West Indies restrict South Africa to 122 for eight

Nagpur, March 25, 2016

The West Indies bowlers restricted South Africa to 122 for eight in their 20 overs in a Group 1 Super 10 match in the ICC World Twenty20 tournament at the Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium here this evening.
The West Indians were relentless in the field after their skipper Darren Sammy won the toss and asked South Africa to bat first.
South African opener Hashim Amla (1) was run out by Andre Russell off the third ball of the innings. Skipper Faf Du Plessis (9) hit Russell for a six beyond long-off in the next over, but departed two balls later,  caught at mid-off by a forward-divingSulieman Benn off Russell, to make it 13 for two in 1.6 overs.
Rilee Russouw (0) tried to cut Chris Gayle in the next over and ended up chipping the ball to Russell at mid-wicket to make it 20 for three.
A B de Villiers (10) was removed by Dwayne Bravo when he was bowled off an inside edge. The score had reduced to 46-4 in 7.4 overs by then. David Miller (1) departed an over later when he was bowled by Gayle for 1 run.
However, opener Quinton de Kock (47), who held one end steady, and David Wiese got the Proteans to safe shores with a sixth wicket partnership of 50 runs. de Kock, who faced 46 balls and hit three fours and a six, was bowled by Russell and then Bravo had Wiese (28) caught by Sammy to make it 112 for seven in 17.2 overs.
Chris Morris remained unbeaten with 16. Aaron Phangiso (4) was run out off the last ball of the innings by Denesh Ramdin.
The West Indian bowling was incredibly tight and hardly gave away runs. Four bowlers -- Gayle (2/17, 3 ov), Carlos Brathwaite(0/11, 2 ov), Benn(0/20, 4ov), and Bravo(2/20, 4 ov) went for less than five runs per over in their spells. Russell picked up two pickets while giving away 28 runs in 4 overs and claiming a catch and a run-out as well.
South Africa
H. Amla run  out Russell 1
Q de Kock b Russell 47
F Du Plessis c Benn b Russell 9
R Rossouw c Russell b Gayle 0
AB de Villiers b Bravo 10
D Miller b Gayle 1
D Wiese c Sammy b Bravo 28
C Morris not out 16
A Phangiso run out Ramdin 4
Extras (2w, 4b) 6
Total (7wickets: 20 overs) 122 (6.10 rpo)
Did not bat: K Rabada, I Tahir
Fall of wickets: 1-1 (Amla, 0.3 ov), 2-13 (Du Plessis,  1.6 ov), 3-20(Rossouw, 3 ov), 4-46 (De Villiers, 7.4 ov), 5-47(Miller, 8.3 ov), 6-97 (De Kock, 15.4 ov), 7-112 (Wiese, 17.2 ov),  8-122 (Phangiso, 19.6 ov)
S Badree 3 0 22 0
A Russell 4 0 28 2
C Gayle 3 0 17 2
D Bravo 4 0 20 2
C Brathwaite 2 0 11 0
S Benn 4 0 20 0
No stories found.