Pritha wins gold in National School Games TT Championships
Maharashtra girls' team

Pritha wins gold in National School Games TT Championships

Vadodara, January 9, 2020

Pritha Vartikar pulled off a stunning five-set victory over Sayali Wani in an all-Maharashtra final to clinch the U-14 girls singles title at the UTT 65th National School Games Table Tennis Championships at the Sama Indoor Sports Stadium here on Thursday.

Making a sensational comeback after being two sets down, top-seeded Pritha completed a gritty 9-11, 8-11, 11-6, 16-14, 15-13 win. “I wanted to keep focusing on each point. Sayali was playing well but I managed to make comeback in time. It was a very close match,” Pritha, who had won the silver medal in the last edition of the championships, said after the game.

Meanwhile, India No. 6 CISCE’s Havish claimed an easy 11-9, 11-8, 11-6 straight sets win against Maharashtra’s Kushal Chopda in the final to clinch the U-14 boys singles title.

Another gold medal for Maharashtra in the U-14 came in the team event when the girls team, comprising Taneesha Kotecha, Pritha Vartikar and Arya Songadkar, emerged winners in the girls' team championship with a dominating 3-0 win against Delhi in the final. West Bengal beat Delhi 3-0 to win the boys' team title.

With victory over Delhi, the Maharashtra’s girls team retained the U-14 girls team championship title.

Results (U-14):

U-14 boys singles final: Havish Asrani (CISCE) bt Kushal Chopda (Maharashtra) 11-9, 11-8, 11-6.

U-14 girls singles final: Pritha Vartikar (Maharashtra) bt Sayali Wani (Maharashtra) 9-11, 8-11, 11-6, 16-14, 15-13.

U-14 team championship:

Boys final: West Bengal bt Delhi 3-0 (Ankur Bhattacharjee bt Samarth Singh 11-6, 11-8, 12-10; Emon Adhikary bt Tejas Narang 11-8, 6-11, 11-8, 11-4; Shankhadip Das bt Devansh Mudgal 11-3, 7-11, 11-6, 12-10)

Boys third place: Maharashtra bt CBSE 3-1 ( Neil Mulye bt Ashish Jain 11-6, 11-6, 11-8; Kushal Chopda loss to Daksh Tyagi 7-11, 12-10, 11-7, 4-11, 8-11; Amish Athawal bt Vansh Girdher 11-5, 11-9 11-7; Kushal Chopda bt Ashish Jain 11-2, 11-5, 11-8)

Girls final: Maharashtra bt Delhi 3-0 (Taneesha Kotecha bt Yashika Sharma 5-11, 11-9, 11-8, 11-3; Pritha Vartikar bt Vanshika Mudgal 11-5, 11-8, 11-1; Arya Songadkar bt Yukti Malhotra 6-11, 10-12, 15-13, 11-3, 11-4)

Girls third place: CISCE bt CBSE 3-1 (Ananya Chande bt Archa Jain 12-10, 11-8, 11-4; D Christin Fiona lost to Vartica Bharat 5-11, 3-11 13-11, 4-11; Rupsa Ghoshal bt Ankana Kalra 12-14, 11-7, 11-9; Ananya Chande bt Vartica Bharat 11-8, 11-6, 11-6)


Related Stories

No stories found.

Latest Stories

No stories found.

Trending Stories

No stories found.