Payas, Munmun win titles at National School Games TT Championship

Payas, Munmun win titles at National School Games TT Championship

Vadodara, January 8, 2020

National champion Payas Jain (Delhi) and Munmun Kundu (West Bengal) emerged champions in the U-17 boys and girls singles, respectively, at the 65th National School Games Table Tennis Championships at the Sama Indoor Sports Stadium here on Wednesday.

While India No. 3 Payas overcame West Bengal’s Aniket Sen Choudhury 12-10, 9-11, 12-10, 11-7 in a hard-fought boys final, Munmun outclassed top-seeded Delhi’s Vanshika Bhargava 11-7, 11-6, 11-4 in the one-sided girls title clash.

“I made some errors initially. He (Aniket) was also playing equally well. After the first set, which I overcame from 8-10 down, I decided to play aggressively and that helped me win the match,” Payas said after the match.

Two more gold medals of the individual events were added into Delhi’s medal tally after Shreyaans Goel and Tisha Kohli won their respective U-19 boys and girls matches. Top-seeded Shreyaans beat Haryana’s Wesley Do Rosario 11-3, 11-8, 7-11, 11-7 in the boys’ final. While, Tisha Kohli completed 11-6, 8-11, 11-9, 12-10 victory against Maharashtra’s Vidhi Shah.

Maharashtra’s team comprising Aditi Sinha, Tejal Kamble and Vidhi clinched the U-19 girls team championships title with a 3-2 win over Delhi in the final.


(Team Championships finals):

U-19 girls: Maharashtra bt Delhi 3-2;

U-19 boys: West Bengal bt Maharashtra 3-0;

U-17 girls: West Bengal bt Tamil Nadu 3-2;


No stories found.