Motorsport: Third win for Rajini Krishnan, Jagan Kumar; Anfal Akdhar tops in Novice race
Jagan Kumar (No.3) edging past Rajiv Sethu (80) to win the Prostock 165cc race in the second round of the Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship in Chennai on September 11, 2021.

Motorsport: Third win for Rajini Krishnan, Jagan Kumar; Anfal Akdhar tops in Novice race

Chennai, September 12, 2021

Veterans Rajini Krishnan (RACR) and Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing) posted brilliant but contrasting victories in their respective categories to light up the second round of the Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship at the MMRT here on Saturday.

Rajini, 41, stamped his authority and class while winning the race in the premier Prostock 301-400cc category after starting from P6 while Jagan Kumar, 31, exchanged leads with arch-rival and pole-sitter Rajiv Sethu (Idemitsu Honda SK69 Racing) before clinching the cliff-hanger with a last-lap overtake as the two crossed the finish line with little separating them.

Both Rajini and Jagan thus notched their third consecutive wins in the championship having scored a double apiece in Round-1 last month.

Also scoring maximum points was a 20-year old from Thrissur, Anfal Akdhar (Rockstar Racing) in the Novice (Stock 165cc) category.

Rajini, 41, rode his Yamaha R3 with craft and guile that reflected his vast experience as he bided his time after starting from P6 before making a decisive move, to move to the front of the pack and stayed there with ease.

The local star, who had won both the races in Round-1 last month, was confidence personified as he finished ahead of Rockers Racing’s Soorya PM from Chennai, who could not defend his pole position, and Hyderabad’s Rahil Shetty (Gusto Racing).

“At the start, I avoided getting caught up in the bunch, but gradually, I made my through the field,” said Rajini after the six-lapper.

Later, Jagan and Sethu battled hard but fair. Starting from pole position, Sethu yielded ground to Jagan but midway through the six-lapper, the Honda ace regained the lead to set up a last-lap humdinger.

The pair took the last corner of the last lap in tandem and raced side-by-side to the finish line where Jagan just about got his nose in front for a thrilling win as Sethu, for the third race in a row, finished second.

Behind the pair, KY Ahamed finished third after a close fight with his TVS Racing teammate Deepak Ravikumar who ran wide entering the home straight on the last lap.

Earlier, starting the six-lap race from P3 on the 38-bike grid, Anfal Akdhar had to fight hard for his victory as he received close attention from pole-sitter Allwin Sundar (AS Motorsports) and Alwin Xavier (Sparks Racing), also from Thrissur.

Sundar, the winner of both races in Round-1 last month, eventually fell out of contention due to some issues with his bike, leaving Akdhar and Xavier to fight for the top honours. Akdhar managed to keep his wheel in front as he crossed the finish line just ahead of Xavier.

The One-Make Championships organized by MMSC also witnessed dominating rides. In the Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup, Kavin Quintal (NSF 250R) and Kevin Kannan (Honda Hornet 2.0) posted their third victory apiece.

Jinendra Kiran Sangave, the 12-year old from Kolhapur (TVS Rookie) and Chennai’s Rakshitha Dave (TVS Girls) maintained their unbeaten run in their respective categories.


Related Stories

No stories found.

Latest Stories

No stories found.

Trending Stories

No stories found.