Maisnam Meiraba, Malvika to lead Indian challenge at Asian Junior Badminton Championship

By Harpal Singh Bedi/NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, June 20, 2019

Manipur’s Maisnam Meiraba and AAI’s  Malvika Bansod will spearhead the 23-member (11 boys, 12 girls) Indian challenge at the Asian Junior Badminton Championship in Suzhou, China from July 20-28.
In the boys' section, leader of the team Maisnam Meiraba Luwang has amassed an impressive total of 1000 points by virtue of a fine run in the domestic circuit, winning consecutive four domestic junior titles as well as both the selection tournaments. 
The girls’ team will be captained by the Airport Authority of India's Malvika Bansod, who topped the list with 1000 points.
The Badminton Association of India (BAI) has considered the cumulative ranking points from the two All-India Junior Ranking tournaments held in Chennai and Thiruvananthapuram in the month of May while selecting the squad, said Ajay K Singhania, General Secretary, BAI. 
The boys’ squad also includes, among others, the Tamil Nadu trio of Sathish Kumar, Sidhant Gupta and Sankar Muthuswamy.
In girls’ singles, Malvika Bansod will be joined by Delhi's Ashi Rawat, Unnati Bisht of Uttarakhand and the 2017 U-15 Asian Junior Championships gold medallist Samiya Imad Farooqui from Telangana.
While considering the player's selection, each of the leg winners gets 500 while the runner-up bags 425. The rest of the points allocation is: semi-finals (350), quarter-finals (275) and pre-quarter-finals (192).
Ishaan Bhatnagar and Vishnuvardhan Goud will be leading India’s challenge in the boys’ doubles section. Aditi Bhatt and Tanisha Crasto will be the ones to watch in girls’ doubles as they topped the points table with 926 points while the in-form pair of K Dingku Sing and Ritika Thakkar will be India’s mainstay in the mixed doubles.
At the previous edition held in Indonesia, India won gold after 54 years, courtesy Lakshya Sen who won the boys' singles title.
The coaching team will be headed by Junior National Coach Sanjay Mishra and former India players Chetan Anand and Arun Vishnu, among others.
The Indian team will be undergoing a camp for fifteen days starting July 3 at Panchkula in Haryana.
The Team:
Boys : Maisnam Meiraba, Sathish Kumar K, Sidhanth Gupta, S. Muthuswamy, Ishaan Bhatnagar, VishnuvardhanGoud, Manjit Singh, K. Dingku Sing, P. S. Ravi Krishna, Manav Raj Smith, Edwin Joy
Girls: Malvika Bansod, Ashi Rawat, Samiya Imad Farooqui, Unnati Bishth, Aditi Bhatt, Tanisha Crasto, Treesa Jolly, VS Varshini, Simran Singhi, Ritika Thakkar, Shruti Mishra, Riza Mahreen

(Our News Desk can be contacted at

Did you like this story?
and help us to serve you better.