Hockey: Haryana win 10th Senior Women National Championship

Kollam, February 9, 2020

Haryana routed Sports Authority of India (SAI) 6-0 to win the 10th Senior Women's National Hockey Championship here on Sunday.

Manisha was the first to get on the score sheet for Haryana in the 19th minute. Annu (22’) soon followed as she increased the lead to 2-0. In the fourth-quarter, Haryana sealed the match with four more goals to take their tally to 6-0. Kajal (47’), Deepika (50’) and Usha (59’) joined the scorecard with a goal each. Devika Sen (60+’) joined the party after she hit the net from a penalty corner in the dying minutes.

In the match for the third/fourth place, Madhya Pradesh beat Maharashtra 2-1. Maharashtra initially took the lead in the second-quarter after Rutuja Dadaso Pisal (25’) found the back of the net.

At the start of the third-quarter, Madhya Pradesh struck two successive goals through Jyoti Pal (31’) and Sadhna Sengar (33’) to earn the victory.


Related Stories