Football: Coach Stimac names 25-member Indian squad for friendlies against Nepal

Football: Coach Stimac names 25-member Indian squad for friendlies against Nepal

New Delhi, August 28, 2021

Head Coach Igor Stimac on Friday named a 25-member Indian football squad for friendlies against Nepal.

The coach picked up the squad after the Senior National Team beat Mohammedan Sporting 2-0 in an exhibition match in Kolkata on Thursday.

Maintaining that “we need to be careful as we head to the next two matches,” Stimac named the players who will be travelling to Nepal to play the back-to-back international friendlies on September 2 and 5, respectively.

“We can’t expect much after 10 days of preparation. The legs are still heavy from the load, and we need to slow down, and refresh the players,” Stimac told

“I am happy with the manner our players performed. They should have scored a few goals much earlier. But it was not easy under the heavy downpour and a heavy pitch,” said Stimac. It rained all throughout the match, and the downpour was heavy from midway in the second half.

“The conditions were challenging,” Stimac added. “The boys are all ready for 45 minutes, and we need to be careful going into the next two games against Nepal. We understand that the ATK Mohun Bagan and BFC players will be in better shape than others for the two matches against Nepal.”

While the ATK Mohun Bagan players join the camp in Kolkata today, the BFC players will join the rest of the squad in New Delhi on August 29 evening. The Blue Tigers leave for Nepal the next day, August 30.

The national team probables have been training in Kolkata since August 15. That had marked the return of the national team camp in Kolkata after 15 years with the Blue Tigers last having camped in Kolkata way back in 2006 prior to the FIFA World Cup Qualifier against Saudi Arabia.

The squad:

Goalkeepers: Amrinder Singh, Dheeraj Singh Moirangthem, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu.

Defenders: Pritam Kotal, Chinglensana Singh Konsham, Mandar Rao Dessai, Akash Mishra, Rahul Bheke, Subhasish Bose, Seriton Fernandes.

Midfielders: Lalengmawia, Bipin Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Sahal Abdul Samad, Brandon Fernandes, Liston Colaco, Yasir Mohammad, Glan Martins, Suresh Singh Wangjam, Jeakson Singh, Pronay Halder.

Forwards: Manvir Singh, Rahim Ali, Sunil Chhetri, Farukh Choudhary.


Related Stories

No stories found.

Latest Stories

No stories found.

Trending Stories

No stories found.