File photos of the Indian team and Rohit Sharma.
File photos of the Indian team and Rohit Sharma.IANS

India's squad for Test series against South Africa announced; Rohit Sharma named ODI, T20I captain

Mumbai, December 8, 2021

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) today announced an 18-member squad led by Virat Kohli for the three-match Test series against South Africa starting from December 26.

A press release from the BCCI said that its All-India Senior Selection Committee had also decided to name Rohit Sharma as the captain of the ODI and T20I teams going forward.

The Test series against South Africa will form a part of the new cycle of the ICC World Test Championship, the release said.

The following is the Test squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), K L Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj.

The selection committee also named four standby players: Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Deepak Chahar and Arzan Nagwaswalla.

The release also said that Ravindra Jadeja, Shubman Gill, Axar Patel and Rahul Chahar were not available for selection due to injuries and are currently undergoing rehabilitation:

The following is the itinerary:

26th – 30th December, 2021 -- 1st Test -- SuperSport Park, Centurion

3rd – 7th January, 2022 -- 2nd Test -- Wanderers, Johannesburg

11th – 15th January 2022 -- 3rd Test -- Newlands, Cape Town


Related Stories

No stories found.

Latest Stories

No stories found.

Trending Stories

No stories found.