A view of the ICC headquarters in Dubai
A view of the ICC headquarters in Dubai

Champions Trophy back, more teams to contest 50-over, T20 World Cups

Dubai, June 1, 2021

The love-hate relationship between the Champions Trophy and the International Cricket Council (ICC) continues. On Tuesday, the tournament was back after being discontinued in 2017, even as the ICC added several teams to the men's 50-over and T20 World Cups.

While announcing the tournaments in the 2024-2031 cycle, the ICC said that eight World Cups and Champions Trophy competitions will be staged in this period, besides four World Test Championship (WTC) finals, in 2025, 2027, 2029, and 2031.

The 50-over World Cups will be expanded to 14 teams, with 54 matches in one tournament, from 2027 and the T20 World Cup to 20 teams and 55 matches from 2024.

In the previous 50-over World Cup, held in 2019, 10 teams had competed in England. And in the previous T20 World Cup, held in 2016 in India, 16 teams had competed.

The ICC, following a meeting of its Board on Tuesday, said that the hosts for the men's events for the next cycle would be decided in September while the process for women's and under-19 events would commence in November.

During the eight editions of Champions Trophy, beginning in 1998, there has been a debate around its utility. Some people have argued against having it, saying that its format (50 overs) clashed with that of the World Cup, so it should be discarded. But, it now seems, the other view has prevailed, and it will be reintroduced in 2025 with eight teams competing.

The ICC said that the 14-team 50-over World Cup would be played in 2027 and 2031 while the T20 World Cups will be held in 2024, 2026, 2028 and 2030.

"The men's World Cup format will have two groups of seven, with the top three in each group progressing to a Super Six stage, followed by semi-finals and final. This is the same format that was used in the World Cup 2003," the ICC said.

"The format of the men's T20 World Cup will consist of four groups of five, with the top two from each group going through to a Super Eight stage, followed by the knockout stages of semi-finals and a final. The Champions Trophy will follow previous editions with two groups of four, semi-finals and final."

"Having the ICC event schedule confirmed through to 2031 is a significant step forward for cricket and will form the basis of our growth strategy for the next decade," said ICC acting chief executive Geoff Allardice.

"The revised approach to selecting hosts for our events will give us much more flexibility to grow the game and engage new fans."

The ICC women's event schedule has already been confirmed with the expansion of both the (ODI) World Cup and T20 World Cup forming part of the ICC's long-term commitment to growing the women's game.

The 2024-31 cycle of ICC men's global events:

2024: T20 World Cup (20 teams, 55 matches)

2025: Champions Trophy (8 teams, 15 matches)

2025: WTC final (2 teams, 1 match)

2026: T20 World Cup (20 teams, 55 matches)

2027: 50-over World Cup (14 teams, 54 matches)

2027: WTC final (2 teams, 1 match)

2028: T20 World Cup (20 teams, 55 matches)

2029: Champions Trophy (8 teams. 15 matches)

2029: WTC final (2 teams, 1 match)

2030: T20 World Cup (20 teams, 55 matches)

2031: 50-over World Cup (14 teams, 54 matches)

2031: WTC final (2 teams, 1 match)


Related Stories

No stories found.

Latest Stories

No stories found.

Trending Stories

No stories found.