1,214 players, including 896 Indians, register for IPL 2022 auction

1,214 players, including 896 Indians, register for IPL 2022 auction

Mumbai, January 22, 2022

As many as 1,214 cricketers -- 896 Indians and 318 overseas players -- have signed for the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 player auctions scheduled to be held in Bengaluru on February 12 and 13.

The two-day auction will see ten teams, including new franchisees Lucknow and Ahmedabad -- bidding for some of the finest talents in world cricket.

An advisory from IPL said the list of registered players includes 270 capped, 903 uncapped and 41 associate players.

The capped players include 61 Indians and 209 foreign players.

There are 143 uncapped Indians and six uncapped international players who were part of previous IPL seasons. There are 692 other uncapped players -- 692 Indians and 62 internationals.

"If every franchise were to have the maximum of 25 players in their squad, 217 players will be taken in the auction (of which up to 70 may be overseas players)," the advisory said.

The 318 overseas players include 59 from Australia, 48 from South Africa, 41 from the West Indies, 36 from Sri Lanka, 30 from England, 29 from New Zealand, 20 from Afghanistan, 15 from Nepal, 14 from the United States, nine from Bangladesh, five from Namibia, three each from Ireland and Oman, two from Zimbabwe, and one each from Bhutan, the Netherlands, Scotland and the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

As many as 33 players have been retained or picked ahead of the auction. The existing eight IPL franchisees have retained 27 players while the two new teams have picked six players ahead of the auction.

These players are:

Ravindra Jadeja, M S Dhoni, Moeen Ali, Ruturaj Gaikwad (Chennai Super Kings); Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel, Prithvi Shaw, Anrich Nortje (Delhi Capitals); Andre Russel, Varun Charavarthy, Venkatesh Iyer, Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders); Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard (Mumbai Indians); Mayank Agarwal, Arshdeep Singh (Punjab Kings); Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal (Rajasthan Royals); Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammed Siraj (Royal Challengers Bangalore); Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, Umran Malik (Sunrisers Hyderabad); Hardik Pandya, Rashid Khan, Shubman Gill (Team Ahmedabad); K L Rahul, Marcus Stoinis, Ravi Bishnoi (Team Lucknow).


Related Stories

No stories found.

Latest Stories

No stories found.

Trending Stories

No stories found.