RSPB wins team championship, Haryana’s Pooja and Neetu dominate  Women’s National Boxing Championships
Nikhat Zareen, who was adjudged the Best Boxer of the 5th Elite Women's National Boxing Championships, in Hisar on October 27, 2021.

RSPB wins team championship, Haryana’s Pooja and Neetu dominate Women’s National Boxing Championships

Hisar, October 27, 2021

World Championships silver medallist Sonia Lather led the charge as the Railway Sports Promotion Board (RSPB), with 12 medals, (five gold, six silver, and one bronze), extended their lease on the title by winning the Women’s National Boxing Championships here on Wednesday.

The RSPB boxers won medals in every weight category, making it a performance to remember.

Lather registered a comfortable 5-0 win over Manisha (Police ) in the 57kg category. Later In the 60kg category, Meena Rani handed the team second gold when she staved off a stiff challenge from Haryana's Jaismine to win the intense match 3-2. Jaismine was given the best challenger award for her impressive show.

Anamika (50kg), Shiksha (54kg) and Nandini (+81kg) were the other RSPB pugilists who emerged champions.

The final day of the event also witnessed dominating performances from Haryana’s Pooja Rani, the two-time Asian champion, who defeated RSPB's Nupur 5-0 in the 81kg category as well as her statemate Neetu, who pulled off an upset win by a unanimous margin over World Championships silver medalist Manju Rani (RSPB in the 48 Kg category.

Haryana claimed the second position with nine medals (four gold, four silver, and a bronze) while Delhi finished third with a gold and two bronze medals.

Telangana's Nikhat Zareen also clinched the title in the 52kg category as she defeated Haryana's Minakshi 4-1 in the final. Nikhat has also adjudged the Best Boxer of the Championships award for her brilliant show in the event that would have surely caught the eye of the coaches and the selectors.

Meanwhile, in the 70kg category, reigning youth world champion Arundhati Choudhary of Rajasthan also put up a memorable show to win gold after defeating RSPB's Pooja 5-0.

The gold and silver medallists of the championships have earned themselves places in the national coaching camp. The remaining two names for the camp in each category will be selected on the basis of performances in selection trials, which will take place right after the nationals.

In the trials, the bronze medallist winners will compete alongside the boxers representing the second team of top-3 teams of the last National Championships—Railway Sports Promotion Board (RSPB), Haryana, and All India Police.


Related Stories

No stories found.

Latest Stories

No stories found.

Trending Stories

No stories found.