Ajay Bhushan Pandey
Ajay Bhushan Pandey

Ajay Bhushan Pandey designated as Finance Secretary

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, March 3, 2020

Revenue Secretary Ajay Bhushan Pandey has been designated as the new Finance Secretary, succeeding Rajiv Kumar, who has superannuated from service on February 29.

"The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has approved designating Dr. A. B. P. Pandey, lAS (MH:1984), Secretary, Department of Revenue, Ministry of Finance as Finance Secretary," a notification from the Department of Personnel & Training (DoPT) said.

Pandey, who was earlier serving as the CEO of the Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI), became the Revenue Secretary on December 1, 2018, succeeding Hasmukh Adhia, who was also Finance Secretary.

Pandey is an Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer of the 1984 batch (Maharashtra cadre).

Rajiv Kumar, who was Secretary, Department of Financial Services, had been designated as the Finance Secretary on July 30 last year in succession to Subhash Chandra Garg.

The most senior among the Secretaries in the Ministry of Finance is usually designated as the Finance Secretary.

Debashish Panda, an Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer of the 1987 batch (Uttar Pradesh cadre), has taken Rajiv Kumar's place as the new Secretary, Department of Financial Services.