President to present Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar 2019 to 26 children on Tuesday

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, January 21, 2019

President Ram Nath Kovind will confer the Pradhan Mantri Rashtriya Bal Puraskar 2019 to 26 children from across the country at a function at Rashtrapati Bhavan here tomorrow.
The 26 shortlisted awardees include one joint award for National Child Award (now renamed as Bal Shakti Puraskar) under the category of innovation, scholastic, sports, arts & culture, social service and bravery. 
An official press release said a total of 783 applications were received for the Baal Shakti Puruskar this year. 
Two individuals and three institutions will also be awarded under National Child Welfare Awards category (now renamed as BalKalyanPuraskar). 
The names of awardees were finalized by the National Selection Committee under the chairpersonship of Women and Child Development Minister Maneka Gandhi.
The Ministry of Women and Child Development, Government of India has introduced a revamped award scheme under the name of “Pradhan Mantri National Children Awards”. These awards will be given in two main categories. Bravery Awards have also been added to these awards now. 
The categories are Bal Shakti Puraskar (earlier known as National Child Award) and Bal Kalyan Puraskar(earlier known as National Child Welfare Award).
The Bal Shakti Puraskar shall be given in the following fields: Innovation, Social Service, Scholastic, Sports, Art & Culture and Bravery. The award carries a medal, a cash prize of Rs. 1,00,000, book vouchers worth Rs. 10,000, a certificate and a citation.
The Bal Kalyan Puraskar shall be given in the following categories:      Individual and  Institution
The award for individual consists of a cash prize of Rs. 1, 00,000,  a medal, a citation and a certificate to each awardee.
The award for institution consists of a prize of Rs. 5,00,000 each and a medal, a citation and a certificate.
The maximum number of awards would be three for National Child Welfare Award (Individual and Institution both).
In order to popularize the scheme amongst general public and make it more genial, the Ministry has launched an award portal ( for accepting the online applications. 
A child who is an Indian citizen and residing in India can apply for National Child Award by registering on the web portal, filling the requisite information and attaching the relevant documents. In order to draw wide response from public, any citizen of India can nominate any child who has achieved excellence in any of the field. Individuals who are citizen of India and have made an outstanding contribution for the cause of children in the field of Child Development, Child Protection and Child Welfare for not less than 7 years and have a positive impact on the lives of children and Institutions who have done exceptional work for the cause of children in any field of Child Welfare for 10 years can apply for the National Child Welfare Award.

(Our News Desk can be contacted at

Did you like this story?
and help us to serve you better.