President accepts resignation of TDP Ministers, PM to look after Civil Aviation

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, March 9, 2018

President Ram Nath Kovind has, as advised by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, accepted the resignation of Union Civil Aviation Minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati and Minister of State for Science and Technology Y S Chowdary from the Union Council of Ministers with immediate effect.
"Further, as advised by the Prime Minister, The President has directed that the work of the Ministry of Civil Aviation will be looked after by the Prime Minister," a press communique from Rashtrapati Bhavan said here today.
Mr. Gajapathi Raju and Mr. Chowdary belong to the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) which, on Wednesday night decided to pull out both its Ministers from the Union Council of Ministers as differences between it and the Centre persisted over its demand for special status to the state of Andhra Pradesh.
Mr. Gajapathi Raju and Mr. Chowdary met the Prime Minister here yesterday evening and submitted their letters of resignation to him.
Talking to newspersons later, the two Ministers said the TDP, however, continued to be a part of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA). "We continue in the NDA and support the NDA," they said.
Did you like this story?
and help us to serve you better.