Yogi Adityanath (R) and Keshav Prasad Maurya (L). (IANS/File photos)

Yogi Adityanath (R) and Keshav Prasad Maurya (L). (IANS/File photos)

Yogi to fight from Gorakhpur, K P Maurya from Sirathu

New Delhi, January 15, 2022

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Deputy Chief Minister Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya will contest the state Assembly polls from Gorakhpur and Sirathu, respectively.

Union Minister and BJP's state election in-charge Dharmendra Pradhan announced the first list of candidates for the polls at the party's headquraters in the national capital on Saturday.

Pradhan announced the names of candidates for 57 of the 58 seats going to the polls in the first phase and 48 of the 55 seats in the second phase.

He said that the party's Parliamentary Board meeting, held under the chairmanship of party president J. P. Nadda and in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, decided to field Adityanath from Gorakhpur and Maurya from Sirathu.

Both the leaders are members of the state Legislative Council.

The saffron party announced the candidature of Adityanath and Maurya as per their strategy to field veteran party leaders in the polls.


Related Stories

No stories found.

Latest Stories

No stories found.

Trending Stories

No stories found.