Ghulam Nabi Azad and Anand Sharma
Ghulam Nabi Azad and Anand Sharma IANS (File photos)

Veterans lose RS race, discontent grows in Congress

New Delhi, May 30, 2022

The names of Congress veteran leaders like Ghulam Nabi Azad, Anand Sharma and Veerappa Moily did not figure in the Rajya Sabha candidate's list announced here on Sunday. The trio was hopeful of being nominated, but it were the loyalists who got the tickets.

The loyalists include mostly the GenNext leaders, but Mukul Wasnik and P. Chidambaram have found a place. This has led to discontent within the party and even many in the young brigade too are upset.

Party spokesperson Pawan Khera, who was hopeful from Rajasthan, tweeted, "There may be shortcomings in my penance." On his tweet, Nagma, a former actress, who is in the party since long replied, "My 18 years of work fell short of Imran Bhai."

Hinting at her discomfort, Nagma said, "SoniaJi our Congress president had personally committed to accommodating me in RS in 2003/04 whn I joined Congressparty on her behest we weren't in power thn. Since then it's been 18Yrs they dint find an opportunity Mr Imran is accommodated in RS frm Maha I ask am I less deserving".

Another leader Jitendra Baghel asked how many SC/ST/OBC members were nominated. Mukul Wasnik is from the SC community, but the hopes of Kumari Selja and P. L. Punia were also dashed after the list came in public.

Discontent in the poll-bound states of Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan is also brewing as the party chose outsiders for the RS nominations.

From the G-23, the party has accommodated Vivek Tankha and Mukul Wasnik, but the left-outs are unhappy with the list.

The Congress on Sunday announced a list of 10 candidates for the Rajya Sabha elections, which includes Randeep Singh Surjewala, Imran Pratapgarhi and Pramod Tiwari, among others, leaving out prominent G-23 leaders like Azad and Sharma.

Biennial elections for the 57 Rajya Sabha seats will be held across 15 states on June 10.

The Congress has nominated Rajeev Shukla and Ranjeet Ranjan from Chhattisgarh, Ajay Maken from Haryana, Jairam Ramesh from Karnataka, Vivek Tankha from Madhya Pradesh and P. Chidambaram from Tamil Nadu.

Imran Pratapgarhi has been fielded from Maharashtra, while Mukul Wasnik, Randeep Singh Surjewala and Pramod Tiwari have been nominated from Rajasthan.


Related Stories

No stories found.

Latest Stories

No stories found.

Trending Stories

No stories found.