Thaawarchand Gehlot
Thaawarchand GehlotFile photo

Thaawarchand Gehlot appointed as Governor of Karnataka

New Governors in MP, Mizoram, Himachal; four Governors transferred

New Delhi, July 6, 2021

Union Minister for Social Justice & Empowerment Thaawarchand Gehlot was today appointed as Governor of Karnataka as part of a series of gubernatorial appointments and changes.

A Rashtrapati Bhavan press communique also said that President Ram Nath Kovind had appointed Gujarat BJP leader and former State Minister Mangubhai Chhaganbhai Patel as the new Governor of Madhya Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh BJP leader and former Lok Sabha member Hari Babu Kambhampati as Governor of Mizoram and Goa BJP leader and former State Assembly Speaker Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar as Governor of Himachal Pradesh.

Four Governors have been transferred: P S Sreedharan Pillai from Mizoram to Goa; Satyadev Narayan Arya from Haryana to Tripura; Ramesh Bais from Tripura to Jharkhand; and Bandaru Dattatraya from Himachal Pradesh to Haryana.

"The above appointments will take effect from the dates they assume charge of their respective offices," the communique added.


Related Stories

No stories found.

Latest Stories

No stories found.

Trending Stories

No stories found.