Election Commission of India (File photo)

Election Commission of India (File photo)

ECI reschedules Punjab Assembly polls to February 20

New Delhi, January 17, 2022

The Election Commission of India today rescheduled the elections to the Punjab Legislative Assembly from February 14 to February 20 after receiving several representations that a large number of devotees would be travelling to Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh for the Sri Guru Ravidas Ji Jayanti celebrations, which is observed on February 16.

As per the original announcement, the notification for the elections was to be issued on January 21 and the poll was to take place on February 14.

"Commission has received several representations from State Government, Political Parties and other organizations drawing attention regarding movement of a large number of devotees from Punjab to Varanasi for participation in Sri Guru Ravidas Ji Jayanti celebrations, which is observed on 16th February 2022. They have also brought to the notice that a large number of devotees start moving for Varanasi around a week before the day of celebration and keeping the poll day on 14th February 2022 will deprive large number of electors from voting," an official press release said.

"In view of this, they have requested to shift the poll date few days after 16th February 2022. Commission has also taken inputs from State Government and Chief Electoral Officer, Punjab in this regard," it said.

"After considering these new facts emerging out of these representations, inputs from the State Government and Chief Electoral Officer, past precedence and all facts and circumstances in the matter, now Commission has decided to reschedule the General Elections to Legislative Assembly of Punjab ....," it said.

Accordingly, the notification for the election will be issued on January 25, the last date for nominations will be February 1, the date of scrutiny will be February 2, the last date of withdrawal is February 4, and the date of poll will be February 20.

Along with Punjab, the Election Commission had also announced elections to the legislative assemblies of Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Goa and Manipur, which would be held between February 10 and March 7.

Uttar Pradesh, the country's most populous state, will have polling in seven phases on February 10, 14, 20, 23 and March 3 and 7; while Goa and Uttarakhand will go to the polls on February 14. Polling will be held in two phases in Manipur on February 27 and March 3.

Counting of votes will be taken up on March 10 in all the five states.


Related Stories

No stories found.

Latest Stories

No stories found.

Trending Stories

No stories found.