Jeby Mather (File photo)

Jeby Mather (File photo)

Congress names Ripun Bora, Jeby Mather as RS candidates from Assam, Kerala

New Delhi, March 19, 2022

Congress President Sonia Gandhi on Friday approved the candidature of Ripun Bora and Jeby Mather as the party's Rajya Sabha candidates from Assam and Kerala.

Bora, 66, is a sitting member of the Rajya Sabha. He was elected to the Upper House of Parliament in March, 2016 and his tenure is set to end on April 2.

Jeby, an AICC member, is the state president of the Mahila Congress in Kerala.

Of the three Rajya Sabha seats from the state that will become vacant by April, the Left Democratic Front is expected to retain two seats while the United Democratic Front might retain one.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) had on March 7 announced that the polls to fill 13 Rajya Sabha seats across six states would be held on March 31. Of the 13 seats, five are from Punjab, three from Kerala, two from Assam, and one each from Himachal Pradesh, Tripura, and Nagaland.

The Punjab members who are retiring on April 9 are Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa (SAD), Pratap Singh Bajwa (INC), Shwait Malik (BJP), Naresh Gujral (BJP) and Shamsher Singh Dullo (INC).

In Kerala, A. K. Antony (INC), K. Somaprasad (CPI-M) and M. V. Shreyams Kumar (LJD) will retire on April 2.

In Assam, Ripun Bora (INC) is set to retire on April 2 along with Ranee Narah of the same party.

The remaining retirees are Anand Sharma (INC) from Himachal Pradesh, Jharna Das (CPI-M) from Tripura and K. G. Kenye (NPF) from Nagaland.


Related Stories

No stories found.

Latest Stories

No stories found.

Trending Stories

No stories found.