All J&K Gupkar alliance leaders to attend PM's all party meet
File photo of National Conference leaders Farooq Abdullah and Omar Abdullah and PDP President Mehbooba Mufti at a meeting of the leaders of the People's Alliance for Gupkar Declaration in Srinagar on October 15, 2020.IANS

All J&K Gupkar alliance leaders to attend PM's all party meet

Srinagar, June 22, 2021

Mainstream political leaders who are part of the People's Alliance for Gupkar Declaration (PAGD) said on Tuesday that they will attend the all-party meeting called by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on June 24.

The announcement was made by former Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah after a PAGD meeting, which was held here at the Gupkar Road residence of the National Conference (NC) patron.

"Since all of us are part of our political parties and we have received individual invitations, it has, therefore, been decided today that all of us will go and attend the Prime Minister's meeting," Dr Abdullah said.

He added that there is no fixed agenda for the June 24 meeting and all of us are free to voice our demands and feelings.

M. Y. Tarigami, the CPI-M leader, who has also been invited to PM's meeting told the media, "We will not ask for the stars. We will only appeal to the Prime Minister to restore to us what is guaranteed by the Constitution."

Muzaffar Shah, leader of Awami National Conference, said there is no change in the PAGD demand for restoration of statehood and the special status to J&K and this demand is non-negotiable.

Mehbooba Mufti said since the PAGD has decided that the invitation by the Prime Minister is on individual basis, she would also attend the meeting personally.

At least 14 mainstream political leaders including four former chief ministers, Dr Farooq Abdullah, Omar Abdullah, Mehbooba Mufti and Ghulam Nabi Azad are among the invitees to the PM's all-party meeting.

Others include Sajad Lone of the Peoples Conference, Syed Altaf Bukhari of JK Apni Party, Professor Bhim Singh of J&K Panthers Party and others belonging to the BJP and the Congress in the Union Territory.

Three Central ministers -- Home Minister Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and Minister of State (PMO) Jitendra Singh -- will also attend the June 24 meeting to be held at the Lok Kalyan Marg residence of the Prime Minister.


Related Stories

No stories found.

Latest Stories

No stories found.

Trending Stories

No stories found.