Karan Singh to head committee for Malaviya's 150th birth anniversary commemoration

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, September 21, 2011

The Government has constituted a National Implementation Committee (NIC) for commemoration ceremonies of Madan Mohan Malaviya’s 150th birth anniversary.

The committee will be headed by Dr Karan Singh, MP and President of the Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR).

The other members of the committee are Minister for Culture Kumari Selja, Minister of Law and Justice Salman Khurshid, Banaras Hindu University Vice-Chancellor Lal Singh and Mr P L Jaiswal of the Mahamana Madan Mohan Malaviya Mission.

The committee also incudes Justice (Retd.) Giridhar Malaviya, Mr Satish Chandra Mishra, MP, Ms Rita Bahuguna Joshi, Chairperson, UP State Congress Committee, Secretary, Ministry of Culture and Secretary, Ministry of Human Resource Development. The Additional Secretary, Culture will be the convener of the committee.

The constitution of the NIC has been approved by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, who is also the Chairman of the National Committee to commemorate the 150th Birth Anniversary of Madan Mohan Malaviya.

Malaviya (25.12.1861-12.11.1946) was part of the freedom movement and highly regarded by Mahatma Gandhi and otehrs. He served as the president of the Congress four times. He not only worked for the moral resurgence but also built up the scientific and technological foundation of India as early as 1916.

The 150th Birth Anniversary year of Malaviya will start on December 25 this year and will continue till December 25, 2012 with yearlong programmes of lectures, seminars and other commemorative events in different parts of the country, an official press release added.