Eight MPs suspended for causing Sunday's ruckus, says RS Chairman
Derek O'B.rien of the TMC, Sanjay Singh of the AAP and Rajiv Satav of the Congress -- three of the eight members of the Rajya Sabha who were suspended for unruly behaviour, on September 21, 2020IANS

Eight MPs suspended for causing Sunday's ruckus, says RS Chairman

New Delhi, September 21, 2020

A day after pandemonium occurred in the upper house, Rajya Sabha Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu on Monday suspended several MPs who were accused of causing ruckus in Parliament.

The motion was moved by V. Murlidharan, the Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs, and the House suspended Derek O' Brien and Dola Sen of TMC, Rajeev Satav, Ripun Bora and Nasir Hussain of Congress, Sanjay Singh of AAP and K. K. Ragesh and E. Kareem of CPM.

The members resorted to sloganeering after the resolution was moved by voice vote in the Rajya Sabha.

Earlier, Chairman Naidu said that it's a sad day for the democracy and "unfortunate" and "condemnable".

He rejected the no-confidence motion against Deputy Chairman Harivansh Narain Singh, citing rules.

Naidu defended the Deputy Chairman and said that he had gone through the record of the house and the Deputy Chairman had followed the rules.

On Sunday, the House witnessed unruly scenes when Trinamool MP Derek O'Brien approached the Chair and tried to snatch a mike while citing from the rule book. When his objections were overruled, an aggressive O'Brien tore the rule book by calling the Bills "Kala Kanoon" or black laws, leading to adjournment of the House for a brief period.

The Trinamool leader was also heard saying: "You cannot do this" to the Chair. At one point in time, the aides of the Deputy Chair, who was conducting the House proceedings, had to come forward to shield him.

Despite repeated requests, many opposition members reached the well of the House to register their protests against the farm Bills.


Related Stories