11 Chairs announced in names of eminent women in various fields of Science & Technology

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, February 29, 2020

The Government has announced 11 chairs in the names of eminent Indian women scientists in various fields to inspire, encourage and empower women and give due recognition to young women researchers excelling in various fields.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has announced several schemes for Women’s Empowerment and the proposal is in line with the theme for this year’s National Science Day - "Women in Science", an official press release said.

The 11 Chairs have been instituted in various areas of research including Agriculture, Biotechnology, Immunology, Phytomedicine, Biochemistry, Medicine, Social Sciences, Earth Science & Meteorology, Engineering, Mathematics, and Physics & Fundamental Research.

One of the chairs constituted is under the name of the noted anthropologist Dr Irawati Karve.

The other Chairs are in the names of renowned cytogenetist Dr Archana Sharma (1932-2008) in Agriculture and Allied Research; pioneering botanist Dr Janaki Ammal (1897-1984) in Biotechnology: Organic Chemist Dr Darshan Ranganathan (1941-2001) in Immunology; Dr Ashima Chatterjee (1917-2006) in Organic Chemistry, Phytomedicine; India’s first female physician Dr Kadambini Ganguly (1861-1923) in Medicine; Dr Anna Mani (1918-2001) in Meteorology; first woman engineer from Karnataka Dr Rajeshwari Chatterjee (1922-2010) in Engineering; Dr Raman Parimala (b.1948) in Mathematics; Bibha Chowdhuri (1913-1991) in Physics; and Kamal Ranadive (1917-2001) in Biomedical Research.