Rahul, Sonia among 15 candidates finalised by Congress for Lok Sabha elections

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, March 7, 2019

Congress President Rahul Gandhi and United Progressive Alliance (UPA) Chairperson Sonia Gandhi are in the first list of 15 candidates from Uttar Pradesh and Gujarat finalised by the party today for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, likely to be held in April-May.
Rahul Gandhi will contest again from his Amethi constituency in Uttar Pradesh and Sonia Gandhi from her seat of Rae Bareli.
The 11 candidates finalised for Uttar Pradesh also include former Union Ministers Salman Khurshid (Farrukhabad), R P N Singh (Kushi Nagar), Jitin Prasad (Dhaurahra) and Saleem Shervani (Badaun).
Other candidates are Imran Masood (Saharanpur), Annu Tandon (Unnao), Rajaram Pal (Akbarpur), Brij Lal Khatri (Jalaun-SC) and Nirmal Khatri (Faizabad).
In Gujarat, the Congress has decided to field former Rajya Sabha member Raju Parmar from Ahmedabad West-SC, former GPCC chief Bharatsinh M. Solanki from Anand, Prashant Patel from Vadodara and Ranjit Mohansinh Rathwa from Chhota Udepur-ST.
The names were finalised at a meeting of the Congress Central Election Committee held here today, a press release from the party added.

(Our News Desk can be contacted at desk@netindian.in)

Did you like this story?
and help us to serve you better.