Counting of votes begins in LS elections

New Delhi, May 16

Counting of votes in the Lok Sabha elections  began this morning across the country as the month-long electoral exercise, which began on April 16, drew to a close.
About 60 per cent of the 714 million voters had cast their votes in five phases of polling between April 16 and May 13.
The counting for 543 Lok Sabha seats is taking place at 1080 counting centres across the country. About 60,000 people have been deployed by the Election Commission for the task.
Counting began at 0800 hours and early trends are expected within 60-90 minutes. All the results are expected to be out by late afternoon or early evening.
The counting will be witnessed by micro-observers deployed at every counting table by the Election Commission as well as by counting agents of the candidates.
Exit polls conducted by various media organisations have given the Congress and the ruling United Progessive Alliance (UPA) led by it an edge over the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) headed by it.
The Lok Sabha has 545 seats, including two members of the Anglo-Indian community who are nominated by the President.
The tenure of the present Lok Sabha will expire in the normal course on June 1 and a new House is required to be constituted before June 2, as per the constitutional provisions.
Counting of votes is also being conducted today in the elections to the state legislative assemblies of Andhra Pradesh, Orissa and Sikkim, which were held along with the Lok Sabha elections.
On the eve of the counting, there was hectic political activity in the national capital yesterday with leaders of all the political parties engaged in informal talks with partners and potential allies as the focus slowly shifted to the task of forming the next government.
The Election Commission has set up a website (
) for displaying authentic trends and results of the elections.
Meanwhile, the Lok Sabha Secretariat has made elaborate arrangements to receive and guide the newly-elected members of Parliament.
Among other things, guide posts are being set up at the airport and railway stations in Delhi so that they do not face any difficulties on arrival in the capital.
Lok Sabha Secretary General P D T Achary said these guide posts would function from today  until May 24.
Special facilities have also been set up in the Lok Sabha Secretariat to help the new members complete various formalities.
All India Radio has also made elaborate arrangements for broadcasting the election results tomorrow. Apart from special hourly bulletins, there will be special bilingual programmes in English and Hindi on trends, results, analysis and reactions as well as on the post-poll scenario.
These programmes will also be available live on the internet at
The Press Information Bureau will operate the Media Centres in its premises from 8.00 a.m. to 9.30 p.m. here and at its 40 regional and branch offices across the country today.
The Media Centres will have the provisions for television-sets and internet linked computers to provide the latest trends and updates on the election results for the visiting journalists. Press releases would be issued on the State Tallies and a National Tally after all the results are declared by the Election Commission.
No stories found.