S L Bhyrappa
S L Bhyrappa

Sahitya Akademi elects S L Bhyrappa, C Narayana Reddy as fellows

New Delhi, March 9, 2015

The Sahitya Akademi today elected well-known Kannada writer S L Bhyrappa and distinguished Telugu poet C Narayana Reddy as its fellows -- the highest honour that it can confer.
The honour is limited to only 21 people at any given time, a press release from the academy said.
Prof Bhyrappa is widely regarded as one of India's foremost modern-day writers. 
He was a lecturer of philosophy at Sri Kaddasiddheswar College, Hubli; Sardar Patel University, Gujarat; and the Regional College of Education, Mysore in Karnataka, from where he retired in 1991.
During his literary career of more than five decades, he has written 25 novels, an autobiography and five books on philosophy. Many of his works have been translated into other Indian languages and English.
He has been among the top-selling authors in Kannada language for the last 25 years, and his latest novel, Aavarana, was sold out even before its release, with ten reprints within five months of the release.
Many of his books were made into films, which also won wide critical acclaim.
He is the recipient of many awards, including the Sahitya Akademi Award, the Kannada Sahitya Akademi Award and Saraswati Samman.
Dr Reddy is a well-known Telugu poet and educational administrator. He was nominated to the Rajya Sabha in August 1997.
He is deeply interested in medieval Urdu poetic traditions and more particularly in the ghazal form. He has imbibed influences of Urdu poetry in his Telugu poems.
Dr Reddy's diction is musical, both in textual form and in recitation form. He does not use rhyme in a simple way but with associated internal rhyme in meaning and poetic metaphor. His poems are characterized by universal values of humanism, hope and well-being of the people. 
He has written many songs for Telugu films. His work Viswambara, which was translated into three languages, won him
the Jnanpith Award in 1988. He is the recipient of the Sahitya Akademi Award for Telugu in 1973.
The US Library of Congress has acquird 45 of his works. The Government of India honoured him with the Padma Shri in 1977 and the Padma Vibhushan in 1992. There have been 19 works on him, all acquired by the Library of Congress.

See News Videos

Related Stories

No stories found.

Latest Stories

No stories found.

Trending Stories

No stories found.