File photo of Rattan Thiyam
File photo of Rattan Thiyam

Rattan Thiyam, N.Rajam, Vinayakram chosen for Sangeet Natak Akademi fellowships

New Delhi, December 24, 2012

Playwright Rattan Thiyam, violinist N Rajam and Grammy Award winning percussionist T H Vinayakram have been chosen as Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellows (Akademi Ratna) for 2012.

The decision was made by the General Council of Sangeet Natak Akademi, the National Academy of Music, Dance and Drama, at its meeting here on December 21, an official press release said here today.
The fellowship is the most prestigious honour bestowed by the Akademi. It is restricted to a very limitd number at a given time and, presently, there are only 40 fellows.
The general council also selected 36 persons from the fields of music, dance, theatre and puppetry for the Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards (Akademi Puraskar) for 2012.
In the field of music, nine eminent artistes have been chosen: Rajashekhar Mansur and  Ajay Pohankar for Hindustani Vocal Music, Sabir Khan (Tabla) and Bahauddin Dagar (Rudra Veena) for Hindustani Instrumental Music, O.S. Thyagarajan for Carnatic Vocal Music, Mysore M. Nagaraja, (Violin) and K.V. Prasad (Mridangam) for Carnatic Instrumental Music, Illayaraja for Creative & Experimental Music and Bhai Balbir Singh Ragi (Gurbani) for Other Major Traditions of Music.
In the field of dance, nine eminent practitioners -- Priyadarsini Govind (Bharatanatyam), Vijay Shankar (Kathak), Vazhengada Vijayan (Kathakali),  Vedantam Ramalinga Sastry (Kuchipudi), Sharmila Biswas (Odissi), Jai Narayan Samal (Chhau), Painkulam Damodara Chakyar (Kutiyattam), Jwala Prasad (Music for Dance) and Aditi Mangaldas (Creative & Experimental Dance) -- have been selected for the award.
The eight theatre personalities chosen for the award are Arjun Deo Charan for Playwriting, Tripurari Sharma and Waman Kendre for Direction, Parvesh Sethi, Nirmal Rishi and Purisai Kannappa Sambandan for Acting, Murari Roychoudhury for Theatre Music and Ghulam Rasool Bhagat for Major Traditions of Theatre (Bhand Pather).
For their contribution to Other Traditional/Folk/ Tribal Music/ Dance/ Theatre and Puppetry, eight artistes have been selected for the Akademi Award. They are Goru Channabasappa for Folk Music (Karnataka), Kinaram Nath Oja for Suknani Ojapali (Assam), Prem Singh Dehati for Folk Theatre (Haryana), Sulochana Chavan for Lavani (Maharashtra), Mattannur Sankaran Kutty Marar for Thayambaka (Kerala), Govind Ram Nirmalkar for Nacha (Chhattisgarh), Heera Das Negi for Mask Making (Himachal Pradesh) and Prafulla Karmakar for Traditional Puppetry (West Bengal).
Nandini Ramani and Arun Kakade will receive the Akademi Award 2012 for Overall Contribution/Scholarship in Performing Arts.
The honour of Akademi Fellow has been conferred since 1954 and Akademi Award since 1952. They not only symbolize the highest standard of excellence and achievements on a national basis, but also recognize sustained individual work and contribution to the practice and appreciation of the arts through performance, teaching and scholarship.  
The honour of Akademi Fellow carries a purse money of Rs 3 lakh and Akademi Awards carry Rs 1 lakh, besides Tamrapatra and Angavastram.

See News Videos

Related Stories

No stories found.

Latest Stories

No stories found.

Trending Stories

No stories found.