Arts & Entertainment

Mukherjee presents Presidential Awards for Classical Tamil

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, May 9, 2017

President Pranab Mukherjee presented the Presidential Awards for Classical Tamil for the years 2013-14, 2014-15 and 2015-16 at Rashtrapati Bhavan here today.
The awards were instituted to give recognition and honour to distinguished scholars who have made an outstanding contribution to Classical Tamil language and literature, an official press release said.
The following is the list of awardees:
Tholkappiyar Award: Dr. S. N. Kandaswamy (2013-14), Dr. A. Dakshinamurthy (2014-15) and Dr. R. Kalaikkovan (2015-16).
Young Scholar Awards: Dr. Ula. Balasubramaniyan, Dr. Kalai. Chezhian, Dr. S. Rajalakshmi, Dr. T. Mahalakshmi and Dr. S. P. Salavanisree (2013-14); Dr. A. Sathish, Dr. J. Muthuselvan, Dr. P. Thirugnanasammandam, Dr. M. Vasanthakumari and Dr. G. Sathish (2014-15); Dr. M. Vanitha, Dr. V. Prakash, Dr. S. Premkumar, Dr. G. Balaji, and Dr. M. Munees Moorthy (2015-16).