Jury announced for third edition of Skoda Prize for Indian art
Arts & Entertainment

Jury announced for third edition of Skoda Prize for Indian art

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, July 24, 2012

Eminent art historian and critic Geeta Kapur will chair the jury for the third edition of the Skoda Prize, one of the most influential platforms for Indian contemporary art.
The jury will include Anupam Poddar, co-founder of the pioneering Devi Art Foundation and leading Indian artist Sheela Gowda, a press release from the sponsors of the prize said.
Launched in 2009 by Škoda Auto India and 70EMG, the Skoda Prize is supported by museums and cultural institutions of international repute.
"The Škoda Prize offers an unparalleled opportunity for mid-career artists across India to showcase their work amongst the country’s leading artists, to a discerning art audience both within India and internationally. 
"The hugely successful top 20 exhibition, which receives thousands of visitors every year, showcases the most exciting trends in contemporary art practices in India and is representative of a diverse spectrum of established and emerging artists from across the country," the release said.
The top 20 exhibition which is curated by Girish Shahane and the jury panel will open alongside the India Art Fair in New Delhi in February 2013. The top 20 longlisted artists also get an opportunity to be represented in the annual ŠKODA Prize book.
In 2011, The Škoda Prize platform was extended to include a 'Breakthrough Artist Award’ to showcase emerging artists who are at the beginning of their careers and help them gain exposure to a wider audience. 
Madhuban Mitra and Manas Bhattacharya won the first Breakthrough Artist award and received a cash prize of INR 50,000. In 2012, this award will be presented in association with Art India magazine and the prize will include a cash prize of two lakh rupees as well as a trophy.
“We’re delighted to have onboard such a distinguished jury. We aim to build on the reputation the award has established as a benchmark of artistic quality, while also attracting new voices through the Breakthrough Artist Award," Girish Shahane, Director of Art, The Škoda Prize, said.
According to the release, nominees for the Skoda Prize need to be below the age of 45 and should have had a solo show in the country over the last 12 months.
Apart from the prize, the winner will also receive a purse of Rs 10 lakhs. Past Škoda Prize winners include Mithu Sen and Navin Thomas.