Campus Notes

60 Higher Educational Institutions granted autonomy by UGC

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, March 21, 2018

The University Grants Commission (UGC) has granted autonomy to 60 Higher Educational Institutions in the country which have maintained high academic standards.
Human Resource Development Minister Prakash Javadekar, who announced the decision here yesterday, said it was a historic decision.
He said the Government was striving to introduce a liberalized regime in the education sector and the emphasis was on linking autonomy with quality.
Mr. Javadekar said the 60 Higher Educational Institutions which have been granted autonomy include 52 Universities -- five Central Universities, 21 State Universities, 24 deemed universities and two private universities. He said these universities would remain within the ambit of the UGC but would have the freedom to start new courses, off campus centers, skill development courses, research parks and any other new academic programmes. They will also have the freedom to hire foreign faculty, enroll foreign students, give incentive-based emoluments to the faculty, enter into academic collaborations and run open distance learning programmes.
Eight colleges have also been granted autonomy, the HRD Minister said. They will be free to set their own syllabus, hold examinations, carry out evaluation as well as declare results. In this case, only the degree will be awarded by the respective university.  
The Minister also said that a show cause notice will be given to three deemed universities which are lacking in quality.
The following is the list of the 60 institutions and their NAAC scores:
Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi, 3.77
University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad, 3.72
Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, 3.41
Aligarh Muslim University , Aligarh, 3.35
The English and Foreign Languages University, Telengana, 3.26
Jadavpur University, Jadavpur, Kolkata, 3.68
Algappa University, Karaikudi, 3.64
NALSAR University of Law, Telangana, 3.60
SavitribaiPhule Pune University, Pune, 3.60
Andhra University, Visakhapatnam, 3.60
National Law University Delhi, Dwarka,  3.59
Utkal University, Bhubaneswar,  3.53
Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra, 3.52
Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupati, 3.52
Osmania University, Hyderabad, 3.52
Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar, 3.51
University of Jammu, Jammu, 3.51
University of Mysore, Mysuru, 3.47
Anna University, Chennai, 3.46
Punjab University, Chandigarh, 3.35
Kakatiya University, Warangal, 3.35
Punjabi University, Patiala, 3.34
Rajiv Gandhi University of Law, Patiala, 3.32
National Law University Odisha, Cuttack, 3.32
University of Madras, Chennai, 3.32
Guru Jambheshwar University of Science & Technology, Hisar,  3.28
Homi Bhabha National Institute Mumbai, Maharashtra, A+ (3.53), 11.05.2015 to 10.05.2020
Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha, Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh, A +(3.71), 15.11.2015 to 14.11.2020
Gandhi Institute of Technology and Management (GITAM), Visakhapatnam, AP, A +(3.53), 28.03.2017 to 27.03.2022
Narsee Monjee Institute of Studies, Mumbai, Maharashtra, A +(3.59), 12.09.2017 to 11.09.2024
Sri Ramachandra Medical College and Research Institute, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, A +(3.62), 24.09.2014 to 23.09.2019
Dr. D.Y. Patil Vidyapeeth, Pune, Maharashtra, A +(3.62), 03.03.2015 to 02.03.2020
Shanmugha Arts, Science, Technology & Research Academy (SASTRA)Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu, A +(3.54), 11.05.2015 to 10.05.2020
Symbiosis International, Pune, Maharashtra, A +(3.58), 19.01.2016 to 18.01.2021
Institute of Chemical Technology,Mumbai, Maharashtra, A ++(3.77), 27.11.2017 to 26.11.2022
Datta Meghe Institute of Medical Sciences, Wardha, Maharashtra, A +(3.53), 30.10.2017 to 29.10.2024
Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai, Maharashtra, A ++(3.89), 19.02.2016 to 18.02.2021
TERI School of Advanced Studies, New Delhi, A (3.26), 23.03.2013 to 22.03.2018
Jain University, Bangalore, Karnataka, A (3.31), 19.07.2017 to 18.07.2022
Vellore Institute of Technology,  Vellore, Tamil Nadu, A (3.42), 3.03.2015 to 02.03.2020
Manipal Academy of Higher Education, A (3.30), 11.07.2016 to 10.07.2021
KLE Academy of Higher Education and Research, Belgaum, Karnataka, A (3.34), 19.01.2016 to 18.01.2021
Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, A (3.40), 24.09.2014 to 23.09.2019
Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology (KIIT), Bhubaneswar, Odisha, A (3.48), 25.05.2016 to 24.05.2021
JSS Academy of Higher Education & Research, Mysore, Karnataka, A (3.34), 08.07.2013 to 07.07.2018
ICFAI Foundation for Higher Education and Research, Hyderabad, Telangana, A (3.43), 26.05.2015 to 25.05.2020
Dr. M.G.R. Educational and Research Institute, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, A (3.31), 02.12.2016 to 01.12.2021
Padmashree Dr. D.Y. Patil Vidyapeeth Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra, A (3.40), 10.12.2014 to 09.12.2019
The Indian Law Institute, New Delhi, A (3.35), 28.03.2017 to 27.03.2022
Siksha ‘O’ Anusandhan, Bhubaneswar, Odisha, A (3.35), 16.11.2015 to 15.11.2020
O.P. Jindal Global University, Sonipat, Haryana, A (3.26), 17.03.2016 to 16.03.2021
Pandit Deendayal Petroleum University, Gandhinagar, Gujarat, A (3.39), 16.12.2016 to 15.12.2021
Yashvantrao Chavan Institute of Science, Satara, 533, Sadar Bazar, Satara Maharashtra-415 001, affiliated to Shivaji University, Kolhapur
Sri Sivasubramaniya Nadar College of Engineering, Rajiv Gandhi Salai, Kalavakkam-603 110 (Tamilnadu), affiliated to Anna University, Chennai
G. Narayanamma Institute of Technology & Science (For Women), 8-1-297/2/I, Shaikpet, Hyderabad-500 104 Telangana, affiliated to JNTU Hyderabad, Telangana
Vivekanand College, 2130/E, Tarabai Park, Kolhapur-416 003 (Maharastra), affiliated to Shivaji University, Kolhapur
Sri Vasavi Engineering College, Pedatadepalli, Tadepalligudem-534 101 (West Godavari Dist.,) (Andhra Pradesh), affiliated to Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, Kakinada
Bonam Venkata Chalamayya Engineering College, Odalarevu-553 210,Allavaram Mandal, East Godavari Dist., Andhra Pradesh, affiliated to Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh
Jai Hind College Basantsing Institute of Science & J.T. Lalvani College of Commerce, 23-24 Backbay Reclamation, A-Road, Churchgate, Mumbai-400 020, affiliated to University of Mumbai, Mumbai-400 032
Shri Vile Parle Kelavani Mandal’s Mithibai College of Arts, Chauhan Institute of Amrutben Jivanlal College of Commerce and Economics, Vile Parle (West), Mumbai-400 056, affiliated to University of Mumbai
Did you like this story?
and help us to serve you better.