Business & Economy

Modi constitutes Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, September 26, 2017

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has constituted a five-member Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (EAC-PM) consisting of reputed economists.
NITI Aayog Member Bibek Debroy will be the Chairman of the EAC-PM while NITI Aayog Principal Adviser Ratan Watal will be its Member-Secretary.
Economists Surjit Bhalla, Rathin Roy and Ashima Goyal will be part-time Members of the council, an official press release said.
According to the release, the terms of reference of the EAC-PM are:
(i) To analyze any issue, economic or otherwise, referred to it by the Prime Minister and advising him thereon; 
(ii) To address issues of macroeconomic importance and presenting views thereon to the Prime Minister. This could be either suo-motu or on reference from the Prime Minister or anyone else; 
(iii) To attend to any other task as maybe desired by the Prime Minister from time to time. 
"The EAC-PM is an independent body to give advice on economic and related issues to the Government of India, specifically to the Prime Minister," the release added.