WIPO bars Delhi-based firm from illegally using brand name "Khadi"
The Khadi India showroom at Connaught Place in New Delhi.File photo

WIPO bars Delhi-based firm from illegally using brand name "Khadi"

New Delhi, July 2, 2021

The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), a specialized agency of the United Nations for brand protection across the world, has ordered a Delhi-based firm against using the domain name www.urbankhadi.com, which illegally uses the brand name “Khadi”.

The Administrative Panel of WIPO’s Arbitration and Mediation Center has ruled that the firm “Om Soft Solutions”, owned by one Harsh Gaba, had registered and used the domain name www.urbankhadi.com in “bad faith” and to gain benefit from the goodwill of Khadi.

The panel’s order came on a petition of Khadi and Village Industries Commission (KVIC) against “Om Soft Solutions” which was in the business of garments by misusing the brand name “Khadi”. The panel lent credence to KVIC’s contention that “it was a systematic attempt by Harsh Gaba to derive unfair advantage, wrongful commercial gains and to mislead the public into believing that www.urbankhadi.com is an associate of Khadi India.

The panel said, “It is evident that the respondent can have no legitimate interest in the disputed domain name…nobody would use the word 'Khadi' unless seeking to create an impression of an association with Khadi.

“….the evidence submitted by the complainant (KVIC) leads to the presumption that the disputed domain name www.urbankhadi.com was registered and used by the respondent in bad faith….the panel orders that the disputed domain name be transferred to the complainant, i.e. KVIC,” the panel ruled.

The panel categorically rejected the arguments of “Om Soft Solutions” that the word “Khadi” enjoyed no protection and that nobody had an exclusive right to use the name “Khadi”.

“…. the complainant (KVIC) is the owner of several KHADI trademark registrations. The complainant is also the owner of trademarks 'Khadi' and 'Khadi India' …the disputed domain name www.urbankhadi.com includes the trademark of KVIC and is confusingly similar or identical to the trademarks of the complainant (KVIC),” the panel observed.

KVIC Chairman Vinai Kumar Saxena said the WIPO’s order will bolster Khadi’s fight against the violation of its brand name not only in India but also globally.

He said KVIC will take all measures to protect the identity and global popularity of Khadi. KVIC has registered the trademark “Khadi” in several countries to prevent any misuse of the brand name “Khadi” as it has a direct bearing on the livelihood of the artisans.

KVIC, in recent times, has won several cases against violation of its trademark “Khadi”. On June 4, Delhi High Court barred a Ghaziabad-based trader JBMR Enterprises from manufacturing and selling counterfeit Khadi Prakritik Paint. On May 28, Delhi High Court restrained “Khadi Design Council of India” and “Miss India Khadi Foundation” from using the “Khadi” brand name.

On May 3, an Arbitration Tribunal in Delhi had said that “Khadi” was not a generic name to be used by private individuals or firms while permanently restraining an individual from using the brand name Khadi. In March this year, the Delhi High Court had also restrained a firm from using the brand name Khadi and the Charkha symbol to sell its products under the name “IWEARKHADI”.

KVIC in the last few years has acted tough against such violators. So far KVIC has issued legal notices to over 1,000 private firms including Fabindia for misusing its brand name and selling products under the name of Khadi. It has sought damages to the tune of Rs 500 crore from Fabindia which is pending before the Mumbai High Court.


Related Stories

No stories found.

Latest Stories

No stories found.

Trending Stories

No stories found.