UNESCO designates 66 new Creative Cities including Hyderabad and Mumbai

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, October 31, 2019

On the occasion of World Cities’ Day today, UNESCO designated 66 urban settlements, including Hyderabad and Mumbai in India, that will join the organization’s network of Creative Cities.
The network, which now numbers a total of 246 members, brings together cities that base their development on creativity, whether in music, arts and folk crafts, design, cinema, literature, digital arts or gastronomy.
UNESCO creative cities commit to placing the culture at the centre of their development strategies and to share their best practices.
“All over the world, these cities, each in its way, make culture the pillar, not an accessory, of their strategy,” said UNESCO Director-General Audrey Azoulay.
“This favours political and social innovation and is particularly important for the young generations,” he added.
On October 31, UNESCO and officials from 24 cities around the world celebrate World Cities Day mobilizing the Organization’s different urban networks which focus not only on culture but also on access, inclusion, global citizenship education, defence of rights, economics and employment, as well as climate change prevention and resilience.
The celebration, an occasion for “urban dialogues” will showcase exceptional cities that rely on innovation and collective intelligence to shape their future.
In the framework of a partnership between UNESCO and Netexplo Observatory, the celebration will also recognize ten cities which use state of the art technological innovation at the service of citizens to transform cities around the world sustainably.
Relying on a global network of 20 universities, ten cities will be honoured for their innovative use of digital technology in their socio-economic and environmental development.
While Hyderabad has been selected for gastronomy, Mumbai gets the honour for films. 
The other new members are: Afyonkarahisar (Turkey) – Gastronomy; Ambon (Indonesia) – Music; Angoulême (France) – Literature; Areguá (Paraguay) – Crafts and Folk Art; Arequipa (Peru) – Gastronomy; Asahikawa (Japan) – Design; Ayacucho (Peru) – Crafts and Folk Art;
Baku (Azerbaijan) – Design; Ballarat (Australia) – Crafts and Folk Art; Bandar Abbas (Iran [Islamic Republic of]) – Crafts and Folk Art; Bangkok (Thailand) – Design; Beirut (Lebanon) – Literature; Belo Horizonte (Brazil) – Gastronomy; Bendigo (Australia) – Gastronomy; Bergamo (Italy) – Gastronomy; Biella (Italy) – Crafts and Folk Art;
Caldas da Rainha (Portugal) – Crafts and Folk Art; Cebu City (Philippines) – Design; Essaouira (Morocco) – Music; Exeter (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) – Literature; Fortaleza (Brazil) – Design; Hanoi (Vietnam) – Design; Havana (Cuba) – Music;
Jinju (Republic of Korea) – Crafts and Folk Art; Kargopol (Russian Federation) – Crafts and Folk Art; Karlsruhe (Germany) – Media Arts; Kazan (Russian Federation) – Music; K?r?ehir (Turkey) – Music; Kuhmo (Finland) – Literature; Lahore (Pakistan) – Literature;
Leeuwarden (Netherlands) – Literature; Leiria (Portugal) – Music; Lliria (Spain) – Music; Mérida (Mexico) – Gastronomy; Metz (France) – Music; Muharraq (Bahrain) – Design; Mumbai (India) – Film; Nanjing (China) – Literature;
Odesa (Ukraine) – Literature; Overstrand Hermanus (South Africa) – Gastronomy; Port of Spain (Trinidad and Tobago) – Music; Portoviejo (Ecuador) – Gastronomy; Potsdam (Germany) – Film; Querétaro (Mexico) – Design; Ramallah (Palestine) – Music; San José (Costa Rica) – Design; Sanandaj (Iran [Islamic Republic of]) – Music; Santiago de Cali (Colombia) – Media Arts;
Santo Domingo (Dominican Republic) – Music; Sarajevo (Bosnia and Herzegovina) – Film; Sharjah (United Arab Emirates) – Crafts and Folk Art; Slemani (Iraq) – Literature; Sukhothai (Thailand) – Crafts and Folk Art; Trinidad (Cuba) – Crafts and Folk Art;
Valladolid (Spain) – Film; Valledupar (Colombia) – Music; Valparaíso (Chile) – Music; Veszprém (Hungary) – Music; Viborg (Denmark) – Media Arts; Viljandi (Estonia) – Crafts and Folk Art; Vranje (Serbia) – Music; Wellington (New Zealand) – Film; Wonju (Republic of Korea) – Literature; Wroc?aw (Poland) – Literature; Yangzhou (China) – Gastronomy.

(Our News Desk can be contacted at

Did you like this story?
and help us to serve you better.