Arts & Entertainment

Kovind to present Tagore Award to Rajkumar Singhajit Singh, Chhayanaut and Ram Sutar Vanji

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, February 16, 2019

President Ram Nath Kovind will present the Tagore Award for Cultural Harmony to Manipuri dance guru Rajkumar Singhajit Singh, Chhayanaut, a cultural organization of Bangladesh and noted sculptor Ram Sutar Vanji for the years 2014, 2015 and 2016, respectively, on February 18.
Rajkumar Singhajit Singh is a leading exponent and choreographer of Manipuri, including the Pung cholom and Raslila. 
The Chhayanaut Sangeet Vidyatan is an institution devoted to Bengali culture, founded in Bangladesh in 1961.
Ram Sutar’s latest work is the Statue of Unity of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, located at Sardar Sarovar Dam, Kevadia in Gujarat. It is the world’s tallest statue at 182 metres.   
The Tagore Award for Cultural Harmony was instituted by the Union Government in 2012 recognizing the contributions made by Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore to humanity at large with his works and ideas, as part of the commemoration of the Nobel laureate's 150th birth anniversary in 2012. 
The annual award carries an amount of Rs 1 crore (convertible to foreign currency), a citation in a scroll, a plaque as well as an exquisite traditional handicraft/handloom item.  The award may be divided between two persons/institutions who are considered by the Jury to be equally deserving of recognition in a given year.
The jury comprises the Prime Minister as Chairman (ex-officio), Chief Justice of India, Member (ex-officio), Leader of the Opposition recognized as such in the Lok Sabha or where there is no such Leader of Opposition then, the Leader of the single largest opposition party in that House, Member (ex-officio), two eminent persons and two nominated members.
 N Gopalaswami and Dr Vinay Sahasrabuddhe, Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha) & President, Indian Council for Cultural Relations were nominated by Chairman of the Jury as members on the Jury of Tagore Award for Cultural Harmony for a period of three years from July 16, 2018.
The award is given to individuals, associations, institutions or organizations for their outstanding contribution towards promoting values of cultural harmony. The award is open to all persons regardless of nationality, race, language, caste, creed or gender. 
Normally, contributions made during ten years immediately preceding the nomination are considered. Older contributions may also be considered if their significance has become apparent only recently.  
A written work, in order to be eligible for consideration, should have been published during the last ten years. Work by a person since deceased cannot be the subject of an award.  If, however, his death occurred subsequent to a proposal having been submitted to the jury in the manner stipulated in the Code of Procedure, then a posthumous award may be made.
The first Tagore Award in 2012 was conferred upon sitar maestro Pandit Ravi Shankar and the second upon Zubin Mehta, well-known Indian conductor of Western classical music.

(Our News Desk can be contacted at

Did you like this story?
and help us to serve you better.