Kovind presents Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards 2017 to 42 artistes
President Ram Nath Kovind with the recipients of the Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards for 2017, at Rashtrapati Bhavan, in New Delhi on February 6, 2019.

Kovind presents Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards 2017 to 42 artistes

New Delhi, February 6, 2019

President Ram Nath Kovind presented the prestigious Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards for the year 201 to 42 eminent artistes at a function held at Rashtrapati Bhavan here today.
The General Council of the Sangeet Natak Akademi, the national academy of Music, Dance and Drama, an autonomous body of the Ministry of Culture, Government of India at its meeting held on June 8, 2018 in Imphal, Manipur, had selected the 42 artistes for the awards from the fields of Music, Dance, Theatre, Traditional/Folk/Tribal Music/Dance/Theatre, Puppetry and Overall contribution/scholarship in the Performing Arts. 
The 42 artistes include one joint award, an official press release said.
In the field of Music, eleven artistes received the award. They are Lalith J Rao - Hindustani Vocal, Umakant Gundecha and Ramakant Gundecha (Gundecha Brothers) (Joint Award) - Hindustani Vocal, Yogesh Samsi - Hindustani Instrumental- Tabla,  Rajendra Prasanna - Hindustani Instrumental - Shehnnai/Flute, M.S.Sheela - Carnatic Vocal, Suma Sudhindra - Carnatic Instrumental – Veena, Tiruvarur Vaidyanathan - Carnatic Insrumental – Mridangam, Shashank Subramanyam - Carnatic Instrumental – Flute, Madhurani- Other Major Traditions of Music -Sugam Sangeet, Haimanti Sukla -Other Major Traditions of Music -Sugam Sangeet, and Gurnam Singh - Other Major Traditions of Music - Gurbani.
In the Field of Dance, nine artistes got the awards. They are: Rama Vaidyanathan for Bharatanatyam, Shobha Koser for Kathak, Madambi Subramanian for Kathakali, L. N. Oinam Ongbi Dhoni Devi for Manipuri, Deepika Reddy for Kuchipudi, Sujata Mohapatra for Odissi, Ramkrishna Talukdar for Sattriya, Janmajay Saibabu for Chhau, and Aashit Desai for Music for Dance.   
In the field of Theatre, nine artistes received the Akademi Awards 2017. They are Abhiram Bhadakamkar for Playwriting, Sunil Shanbagh for Direction, Bapi Bose for Direction, Hema Singh for Acting, Deepak Tiwari for Acting, Anil Tickoo for Acting, Nuruddin Ahmed for Allied Theatre Arts - (Stage Craft), Avtar Sahani for Allied Theatre Arts - (Lighting), Shougrakpam Hemanta Singh for Other Major Traditions of Theatre - Shumang Leela, Manipur.
In the field of Traditional/Folk/Tribal Music/Dance/Theatre and Puppetry,  ten artistes received the awards. They are: Anwar Khan Manganiyar , Folk Music, Rajasthan, Prakash Khandge, Folk Arts, Maharashtra Jagannath Bayan, Traditional Music - Khol, Assam, Ramchandra Majhi, Folk Music, Bihar, Rakesh Tiwari, Folk Theatre, Chhattisgarh, Parvathy Baul, Folk Music (Baul),  West Bengal, Saravjit Kaur, Folk Music, Punjab, K.C. Runremsangi, Folk Music, Mizoram, Mukund Nayak, Folk Music, Jharkhand, and Sudip Gupta, Puppetry, West Bengal.
Vijay Verma and Sandhya Purecha were given the Akademi Award 2017 in the field of Overall Contribution/Scholarship in the Performing Arts.
The honour of Akademi Award has been conferred since 1952. These honours not only symbolize the highest standard of excellence and achievements, but also recognize sustained individual work and contribution. 
The award carries a cash component of Rs 1 lakh, besides a Tamrapatra and Angavastram.

(Our News Desk can be contacted at desk@netindian.in)

Did you like this story?
and help us to serve you better.

Related Stories