Arts & Entertainment

Jaipur’s walled city, the next proposed site for UNESCO World Heritage recognition

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, August 1, 2018

The walled city of Jaipur has been proposed for recognition by UNESCO as a World Heritage site, Minister of State for Culture Mahesh Sharma said on Tuesday.
Replying to a question in the Rajya Sabha during Question Hour, Dr Sharma said as per Operation Guidelines 2017, only one site can be nominated by the state party each year.
"The recognition as a World Heritage site is a matter of great pride. It impacts the local economy by giving a boost to domestic and international tourism leading to increased employment generation, the creation of world-class infrastructure and augmentation of the sale of local handicrafts, handlooms and heritage memorabilia. Besides, it adds to the prestige of the country as well as the prescribed site," he said.
At present, there are a total of 37 World Heritage sites in India. Cultural sites under protection of the Archaeological Survey of India are Agra Fort (1983); Ajanta Caves (1983); Ellora Caves (1983); Taj Mahal (1983); Group of Monuments at Mahabalipuram (1984); Sun Temple, Konarak (1984); Churches and Convents of Goa (1986); Fatehpur Sikri (1986); Group of Monuments at Hampi (1986); Khajuraho, Group of Temples (1986).
Elephanta Caves (1987); Great Living Chola Temples at Thanjavur, Gangaikondacholapuram and Darasuram (1987 & 2004); Group of Monuments at Pattadakal (1987); Buddhist Monuments at Sanchi (1989); Humayun’s Tomb, Delhi (1993); Qutab Minar and its Monuments, Delhi (1993); Rock Shelters of Bhimbetka (2003); Champaner-Pavagarh Archaeological Park (2004); Red Fort Complex, Delhi (2007).
Hill Forts of Rajasthan (Chittaurgarh, Kumbhalgarh, Jaisalmer and Ranthambhore, Amber and Gagron Forts) (2013) Amber and Gagron Forts are under protection of Rajasthan State Archaeology and Museums; Rani-ki-Vav (The Queen’s Stepwell) at Patan (2014); Archaeological Site of Nalanda Mahavihara (Nalanda University) (2016).
Under Protection of Ministry of Railways: Mountain Railways of India (Darjeeling,1999), Nilgiri (2005), Kalka-Shimla(2008), Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (formerly Victoria Terminus) (2004).  
Under Protection of Bodhgaya Temple, Management Committee is the Mahabodhi Temple Complex at Bodh Gaya, (2002). Under Protection of Rajasthan State Archaeology and Museums are The Jantar Mantar, Jaipur (2010).
Under Protection of Chandigarh Administration is The Architectural Work of Le Corbusier, an Outstanding Contribution to the Modern Movement (2016).
Under Protection of Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation is the Historic City of Ahmedabad (2017).
Under Protection of Government of Maharashtra is Victorian and Art Deco Ensembles of Mumbai (2018).
In natural sites, under the protection of the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Changes is Kaziranga National Park (1985); Keoladeo National Park (1985); Manas Wildlife Sanctuary (1985); Sunderbans National Park (1987); Nanda Devi and Valley of Flowers National Parks (1988, 2005); Western Ghats (2012) Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra,Tamil Nadu; Great Himalayan National Park (2014).
Under the Protection of Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Changes are Khangchendzonga National Park (2016).

(Our News Desk can be contacted at

Did you like this story?
and help us to serve you better.