Campus Notes

15 IIITs to be declared as Institutes of National Importance

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, March 16, 2017

The Union Cabinet yesterday approved the introduction of the Indian Institutes of Information Technology Public Private Partnership (IIIT PPP) Bill, 2017 that seeks to declare the existing IIITs in PPP as Institutions of National Importance with powers to award degrees. 
There is no financial implication with regard to the proposed IIIT PPP Bill, 2017, an official press release said.
The release said the decision would entitle the IIITs to use the nomenclature of Bachelor of Technology (B.Tech) or Master of Technology (M.Tech) or Ph.D degree as issued by a University or Institution of National Importance. 
The grant of a formal degree in Information Technology, Engineering or Ph.D will enhance the prospects of the graduating students in the job market and will also enable the institutes to attract enough students required to develop a strong research base in the country in the field of information technology, it said.
The emerging needs of the industry and the economy as a whole for skilled technical manpower is expected to be met from the talent pool of trained personnel of the institutes, it said.
Every institute shall be open to all - irrespective of gender, caste, creed, disability, and domicile, and ethnicity, social or economic background. Academic session has commenced in the IIITs in Andhra Pradesh (Chittoor), Assam (Guwahati), Gujarat (Vadodara), Haryana (Sonipat), Himachal Pradesh (Una), Jharkhand (Ranchi), Karnataka (Dharwad), Kerala(Kottayam), Maharashtra (Nagpur & Pune), Manipur (Senapati), Rajasthan (Kota), Tamil Nadu (Tiruchirappalli), Uttar Pradesh (Lucknow) and Kalyani (West Bengal). 
The scheme of setting up of 20 new IIITs in Public Private Partnership (IIIT PPP), as approved by the Union Cabinet on 7.12.2010, does not have provision which empowers the institutes set up in Public Private Partnership to grant degrees to its students. The first batch of under-graduate students enrolled in the Year 2013-14 will be passing out in the Year 2017.