Union Council of Ministers

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, January 19, 2011

The following is the Union Council of Ministers after today's expansion and reshuffle:

Dr. Manmohan Singh - Prime Minister and also in charge of the Ministries/Departments not specifically allocated to the charge of any Minister viz: Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions; Planning; Atomic Energy; and Space


Pranab Mukherjee - Finance

Sharad Pawar - Agriculture, Food Processing Industries

A. K. Antony - Defence

P. Chidambaram - Home Affairs

Mamata Banerjee - Railways

S. M. Krishna - External Affairs

Ghulam Nabi Azad - Health and Family Welfare

Sushil Kumar Shinde - Power

M. Veerappa Moily - Law and Justice

S. Jaipal Reddy - Petroleum and Natural Gas

Kamal Nath - Urban Development

Vayalar Ravi - Overseas Indian Affairs, Civil Aviation

Murli Deora - Corporate Affairs

Kapil Sibal - Human Resource Development, Communications and Information Technology Ambika Soni - Information and Broadcasting

B. K. Handique - Development of North Eastern Region

Anand Sharma - Commerce and Industry

Virbhadra Singh - Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises

Vilasrao Deshmukh - Rural Development, Panchayati Raj

C. P. Joshi - Road Transport and Highways

Kumari Selja - Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation, Culture

Subodh Kant Sahay - Tourism

M. S. Gill - Statistics and Programme Implementation

G. K. Vasan - Shipping

Dayanidhi Maran - Textiles

Farooq Abdullah - New and Renewable Energy

Mallikarjun Kharge - Labour and Employment

Pawan K. Bansal - Parliamentary Affairs, Science and Technology, Earth Sciences

Mukul Wasnik - Social Justice and Empowerment

Kantilal Bhuria - Tribal Affairs

M. K. Alagiri - Chemicals and Fertilizers

Praful Patel - Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises

Sriprakash Jaiswal - Coal

Salman Khursheed - Water Resources, Minority Affairs


Ajay Maken - Youth Affairs and Sports

Beni Prasad Verma - Steel

K. V. Thomas - Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution

Dinsha J. Patel - Mines

Krishna Tirath - Women and Child Development

Jairam Ramesh - Environment and Forests


Srikant Jena - Chemicals and Fertilizers

E. Ahamed - External Affairs

Mullappally Ramachandran - Home Affairs

V. Narayanasamy - Parliamentary Affairs; Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Prime Minister's Office

Jyotiraditya Scindia - Commerce and Industry

D. Purandeswari - Human Resource Development

K.H. Muniappa - Railways

Panabaka Lakshmi - Textiles

Namo Narain Meena - Finance

M.M. Pallam Raju - Defence

Saugata Ray - Urban Development

S.S. Palanimanickam - Finance

Jitin Prasada - Road Transport and Highways

A. Sai Prathap - Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises

Preneet Kaur - External Affairs

Gurudas Kamat - Home Affairs, Communications and Information Technology

Harish Rawat - Agriculture, Food Processing Industries

Bharatsinh Solanki - Railways

Mahadev S. Khandela - Tribal Affairs

Dinesh Trivedi - Health and Family Welfare

Sisir Adhikari - Rural Development

Sultan Ahmed - Tourism

Mukul Roy - Shipping

Choudhury Mohan Jatua - Information and Broadcasting

D. Napoleon - Social Justice and Empowerment

S. Jagathrakshakan - Information and Broadcasting

S. Gandhiselvan - Health and Family Welfare

Tusharbhai Chaudhary - Road Transport and Highways

Sachin Pilot - Communications and Information Technology

Arun Yadav - Agriculture, Food Processing Industries

Prateek Prakashbapu Patil - Coal

R.P.N. Singh - Petroleum and Natural Gas, Corporate Affairs

Vincent Pala - Water Resources, Minority Affairs

Pradeep Jain - Rural Development

Agatha Sangma - Rural Development

Ashwani Kumar - Planning; Parliamentary Affairs; Science and Technology; Earth Sciences

K. C. Venugopal - Power