DMRC signs MoU with Haryana govt. on extension of Delhi Metro to Faridabad

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, March 26, 2012

The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) today signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with the Haryana government for extension of the Delhi Metro corridor from Badarpur in Delhi to YMCA Chowk, Faridabad in Haryana.
The MoU was signed by S S Dhillon, Financial Commissioner & Principal Secretary to Government of Haryana, Town and Country Planning Department and Kumar Keshav, Director (Project & Planning), DMRC.
Haryana Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda and DMRC Managing Director Mangu Sngh were amongst those present at the ceremony.
The 13.875 km fully elevated corridor will be of standard gauge (1435 mm) and will have nine stations. They are Sarai, NHPC Chowk, Mewala Maharajpur, Sector -27 A, Badkal Mor, Old Faridabad, Ajronda, Faridabad New Town and YMCA Chowk.
A DMRC press release said the total cost of the project would be Rs 2494 crore, which includes the cost of the land.
Of this, the Haryana government will contribute Rs 1472 crore (excluding the cost of land), the Government of India Rs 536.6 crore and the DMRC Rs 400 crores (rolling stock). The land required for the project will be provided free of cost by the Haryana government to DMRC on lease basis.
The route will be an extension of the presently operational Line 6 of the Delhi Metro, the 20.16 kilometers long Central Secretariat – Badarpur corridor.
According to the Detailed Project Report (DPR), the daily ridership of this corridor is expected to be 2.14 lakhs (in 2014 after commissioning of the corridor for the public).  
A train maintenance depot will be constructed near Sector 20 A in Faridabad and will be called Ajronda Depot. 
The civil contract for the construction of this corridor has already been awarded in February, 2012. The corridor will be commissioned by end of 2014.
Taking into account the extension of Line 6 at the other end, that is the Central Secretariat--Kashmere Gate extension, the corridor will have three interchange stations in Phase III -- Kashmere Gate, Mandi House and Central Secretariat -- covering a network of approximately 43.40 km from Kashmere Gate to YMCA Chowk in Faridabad. In all, this route will have 32 stations, the release added.