17th National Youth Festival to begin in Mangalore on Thursday

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, January 11, 2012

The 17th National Youth Festival, in which 5000 young persons from across the country will participate, will begin in Mangalore tomorrow.
During the five-day festival, there will be competitive events in 16 individual events and two group events.
In addition to this, non-competitive events namely Yuva Kriti, Food Festival, Young Artists’ Camp and Adventure Park will be organised by Nehru Yuva Kendra Sangathan which works under the aegis of Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. The National Service Scheme will organise a Youth Convention and a lecture series "Suvichaar", an official press release said here today.
The festival will be inaugurated by Karnataka Chief Minister D.V. Sadananda Gowda at the Mangala Stadium in Mangalore.
Union Minister for Corporate Affairs will be the chief guest while Union Minister of State for Youth Affairs and Sports Ajay Maken and Veerendra Heggade, Dharmadhikari, Dharmasthala, will be the guests of honour.
Maken will give away the National Youth Awards to 28 individuals and two organisations at the inaugural function. This is the first time that the festival is being organised in Karnataka.
The theme of this year’s event will be “Celebrating Diversity in Unity”. This year's event will also see participation by young delegates from SAARC countries.
Karnataka Governor H R Bhardwaj will presie over the valedictory function of the festival on January 16.
The National Youth Festival, since its inception and first successful organisation in Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh) in 1995, is organised every year from 12th to 16th January across different States of the country to commemorate the birth anniversary of Swami Vivekanand which falls on 12th January. 
The venues where these Festivals were subsequently held are Kolkata (West Bengal) in 1996, Ahmedabad (Gujarat) in 1997, Chennai (Tamil Nadu) in 1998, Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh) in 1999, Gandhinagar (Gujarat) in 2000, Hissar (Haryana) in 2002, Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala) in 2003, Jamshedpur (Jharkhand) in 2004, Hyderabad (Andhra Pradesh) in 2005, Patna (Bihar) in 2006, Pune (Maharashtra) in 2007 and Chennai (Tamil Nadu) in 2008, Amritsar (Punjab) in 2009, Bhubaneswar (Orissa) in 2010 and Udaipur (Rajasthan) in 2011.