Mumbai Indians permitted to field 5 overseas players in CLT20

United News of India

Mumbai, September 22, 2011

The Champions League Twenty20 governing council has approved injury-hit Mumbai Indians to field five overseas players when they take the field in the tournament.

"In the current circumstances, if the Mumbai Indians suffer one more injury to an Indian player, they will be unable to field a team due to CLT20 rules restricting teams to a maximum of four overseas players in any one match," the tournament organisers said in a statement today.

"As a result, the CLT20 governing council has approved a recommendation by the technical committee that, to ensure the integrity of the tournament, the Mumbai Indians will be permitted to select up to five overseas players in any one team, provided

those players were contracted to play in the 2011 IPL," it added.

Mumbai are without six of their first-choice players, including skipper Sachin Tendulkar, and their reinforced squad contains seven Indians and seven foreign players.

Apart from Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma, Munaf Patel, Ali Murtaza, Dhawal Kulkarni and Suryakumar Yadav were ruled out of the tournament. They were replaced by Andrew Symonds, Dilhara Fernando, R Sathish, Sarul Kanwar and Abu Nechim. Moises Henriques is contracted to Mumbai, but cannot be considered for selection since he is a part of the New South Wales squad for the tournament.

"This was considered the most appropriate solution to respect player safety and ensure no player plays for a CLT20 team unless he played for, or was contracted to play for, that team in the qualifying event," the statemnet was quoted.

"Subject to approval, the ruling of the Governing Council and Technical Committee is applicable to any other team that, like the Mumbai Indians, suffers tournament-ending injuries in significant numbers that compromises its participation in the event.

"The current Mumbai Indians squad consists of 14 players, however they may add another player to their squad from their remaining injury-free contract list if they choose," according to the statement.

Meanwhile, the Mukesh Ambani-owned team have not announced a captain yet. Tendulkar (injured toe), Rohit (broken finger) and Munaf (twisted ankle) were injured during India's recent tour of England.

Mumbai squad: Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga (overseas), Andrew Symonds (overseas), James Franklin (overseas), Aiden Blizzard (overseas), Davy Jacobs (overseas), Kieron Pollard (overseas), Dilhara Fernado (overseas), R Satish, Ambati Rayudu, T Suman, Yuzvendra Chah.