Jairam Ramesh
Jairam Ramesh

PM reshuffles Cabinet, moves Jairam to Rural Development, Khurshid to Law

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, July 12, 2011

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh today reshuffled his Cabinet, bringing in Jairam Ramesh as the new Rural Development Minister, V Kishore Chandra Deo as the Minister for Tribal Affairs and Panchayati Raj while leaving the key portfolios of Finance, Home, Defence and Foreign Affairs unchanged.
Apart from Mr Dayanidhi Maran, who resigned recently following allegations of involvement in the 2G spectrum scam, the Prime Minister has dropped Mr Murli Deora, Mr B K Handique, Dr M S Gill, Mr Kanti Lal Bhuria, Mr A Sai Prathap and Mr Arun S Yadav from the Council of Ministers.
Mr Veerappa Moily, who was handling Law and Justice, has been moved to Corporate Affairs. He will be succeeded by Mr Salman Khurshid, who also has additional charge of Minority Affairs.
Commerce and Industry Minister Anand Sharma will hold additional charge of Textiles, which was being held by Mr Maran, while Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pawan Kumar Bansal has been given additional charge of Water Resources, held by Mr Khurshid so far.
Mr Vilasrao Deshmukh, who was shifted to Rural Development in the January reshuffle, has now been shifted to Science and Technology and Earth Sciences.
Mr Beni Prasad has been promoted and given charge of Steel in the Cabinet, while Mr Dinesh Trivedi of the Trinamool Congress will be the new Railways Minister, a portfolio held earlier by party supremo Mamata Banerjee, who has taken over as the Chief Minister of West Bengal.
The new Ministers will be sworn in by President Pratibha Patil at Rashtrapati Bhavan at 1700 hours today.
Mr Srikant Jena (Statistics and Programme Implementation, Chemicals and Fertilisers), Ms Jayanthi Natarajan (Environment and Forests), Mr Paban Singh Ghatowar (Development of North-Eastern Region) and Mr Gurudas Kamat (Drinking Water and Sanitation) will be Ministers of State with independent charge.
The new Ministers of State will be Mr Sudip Bandopadhyaya (Health and Family Welfare), Mr Charan Das Mahant (Agriculture and Food Processing Industries), Mr Jitendra Singh (Home Affairs), Mr Milind Deora (Communications and Information Technology) and Mr Rajiv Shukla (Parliamentary Affairs).
Among the Ministes of State, Mr E. Ahamed has been given Human Resource Development apart from External Affairs, Mr V Narayanasamy gets Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions; and Prime Minister’s Office, Mr Harish Rawat has been given  Agriculture and Food Processing Industries; and Parliamentary Affairs, Mr Mukul Roy has been given Shipping and Mr Ashwani Kumar has got Planning; Science and Technology and Earth Sciences.