Uday Prakash, M P Veerendra Kumar among Sahitya Akademi Award winners

New Delhi, December 21, 2010

Eminent journalist Uday Prakash and writer-cum-politician M P Veerendra Kumar have been selected for the Sahitya Akademi Awards 2010 along with 20 other writers.

In all, eight books of poetry, three of short stories, four of criticism, a novel, a travelogue, an autobiography, a play and four novels have won the award this year in 22 Indian languages, a statement issued by the Akademi said yesterday.

While Janata Dal (Secular) leader Veerendra Kumar's travelogue "Haimavathabhuvil" has been chosen in Malayalam, well-known Hindi writer and journalist Uday Prakash has won the award for his collection of short stories "Mohan Das".

The poets honoured with the award are Aurobindi Uzir (Bodo), Arun Sakhardande (Konkani), Gopi Narayan Pradhan (Nepali), Vanita (Punjabi), Mangat Badal (Rajasthani), Mithila Prasad Tripathi (Sanskrit), Laxman Dubey (Sindhi) and Sheen Kaaf Nizam (Urdu).

Others who have won for short stories include Manoj (Dogri) and Nanjil Nadan (Tamil).

Keshada Mahanta (Assamese), Rahmath Tarikere (Kannada), Basher Bashir (Kashmiri) and Ashok R Kelkar (Marathi) have got the award for their books in the criticism genre.

An autobiography and play have been selected in Oriya and Santali language category respectively. Awards in Maithili and Telugu language would be declared later.

The award in the form of a casket containing an engraved copper plaque, a shawl and a cheque of Rs 1,00,000 will be presented to the authors at a function to be held on February 15 during the Festival of Letters.


Related Stories

No stories found.

Latest Stories

No stories found.

Trending Stories

No stories found.