Kiran Reddy inducts 39 ministers into his Government
Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy taking charge and signing his first file in his chamber at the Secretariat in Hyderabad on December 1, 2010.

Kiran Reddy inducts 39 ministers into his Government

Hyderabad, December 1, 2010

Andhra Pradesh's new Chief Minister Kiran Kumar Reddy inducted 39 ministers into his Council of Ministers today, including Mr Y S Vivekananda Reddy, the brother of late Chief Minister Y S Rajasekhara Reddy, the United News of India reported.

The Ministers were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Andhra Pradesh Governor E S L Narasimhan at a ceremony in Raj Bhavan.

Of the 39 Ministers, 28 had served as Ministers in the Governments of late Y S Rajasekhara Reddy (YSR) and his successor K Rosaiah. The remaining 11 are new faces.

Four members of the YSR and Rosaiah ministries - Peddireddy Ramachandra Reddy, Balineni Srinivasa Reddy, Gade Venkat Reddy and Shilpa Mohan Reddy - do not find a place in the new Council of Ministers.

Those sworn in today are: Galla Aruna Kumari, D K Aruna, Anam Rama Narayana Reddy, Balaraju, Baswaraju Saraiah, Botsa Satyanarayana, D L Ravindra Reddy, Dhamodhar Rajanarasimha, Danam Nagender, Dharmana Prasada Rao, Erasu Pratapa Reddy, J Geeta Reddy, K Jana Reddy, Jupalli Krishna Rao, Kanna Laxmi Narayana, Kasu Venkata Krishna Reddy, M Mahender Reddy, Mopidevi Venkata Ramana, M Mukesh Goud, K Partha Sarathi, Pitani Satyanarayana, Ponnala Laxmaiah, Raghuveera Reddy, Ramreddy Venkat Reddy, Sabitha Reddy, S Shailaja Nath, Shatrucherla Vijaya Ramaraju, P Shanker Rao, Duddilla Sridhar Babu, Sudharshan Reddy, Vakita Sunitah Laxma Reddy, Syed Mohd Ahmadullah, T G Venkatesh, Thota Narasimmam, Vatti Vasantha Kumar, P Vishwaroop and Y S Vivekananda Reddy.

Mr Kiran Kumar Reddy, 50, who was the Speaker of the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly, was sworn in as the Chief Minister on November 25, a day after Mr Rosaiah resigned in a surprise move.

Mr Rosaiah, 77, who had been chosen as the Congress nominee for the Chief Minister's post after the hugely popular YSR died on September 2 last year in a helicopter crash, quit his post citing poor health and personal reasons.

There has been high political drama in the last few days. YSR's son and Congress MP Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy, 38, who had been overlooked for the Chief Minister's job after his father's death, felt the decision to choose Mr Kiran Reddy as the successor to Mr Rosaiah was a slight to him. The overtures made by the party high command to YSR's brother Y S Vivekananda Reddy upset him even further and Mr Jagan Mohan Reddy announced on November 29 his decision to quit as the Lok Sabha member from Kadapa and from the primary membership of the party.

All this was preceded by turmoil for a few days with Sakshi TV, a television channel owned by Mr Jagan Mohan Reddy, telecasting programmes critical of Congress President Sonia Gandhi, party General Secretary Rahul Gandhi and Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

The management of the channel had claimed that Mr Reddy was not aware of the contents of the programmes.

YSR's widow and Mr Reddy's mother, Ms Vijaylakshmi Reddy, also resigned as the Member of the State Legislative Assembly from Pulivendula constituency, which used to be held by her late husband.


No stories found.