Arts & Entertainment

National Awards: Antaheen is Best Film, Priyanka, Limaye Best Actors

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, January 23, 2010

Bengali film "Antaheen" was chosen as the Best Film while Priyanka Chopra bagged the Best Actress Award for her role in Hindi film "Fashion" and Upendra Limaye got the Best Actor Award for his performance in Marathi film "Jogva" in the 56th National Film Awards for 2008 announced here today.

"Antaheen" also won awards for the Best Cinematography (Avik Mukhopadhyay), Best Lyrics (Anindya Bannerjee and Chandranil Bhattacharya) and Best Female Playback Singer (Shreya Ghoshal).

The Juries for Feature Films, Non-Feature Films and for Best Writing on Cinema presented their report to Union Information & Broadcasting Minister Ambika Soni earlier in the day.

Hariharan got the Best Male Playback Singer award for "Jogva", which also won the awards for the Best Film on Social Issues and for Best Music Direction.

Bollywood star Kangana Ranaut and Arjun Rampal were selected for the Best Supporting Actress Award for "Fashion" and the Best Supporting Actor Award for "Rock On", respectively.

"Antaheen", directed by Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury, was chosen as the Best Film for its "lyrical blend of technical devices in the right proportion to depict shifting human relationships in an urban scenario."

The Indira Gandhi Award for Best First Film of a Director was given to "A Wednesday" directed by Neeraj Pandey for its "slick and searing exposure of the tension below the normal rhythm of life and the angst of the common man in Mumbai."

Hindi film "Oye Lucky! Lucky Oye!" directed by Dibakar Banerjee got the award for the Best Popular Film providing wholesome entertainment for its "intelligent treatment of an off-beat subject that makes it different within the popular format."

The Nargis Dutt Award for Best Film on National Integration went to Assamese movie "Ai Kot Nai"directed by Manju Borah for its honest look at a burning problem in North-East India, its attempt to break down artificial boundaries and giving it a human and aesthetic appeal.

"Little Zizou" in English/Gujarati, directed by Sooni Taraporewala was chosen for the Best Film on Family Values for its witty and intelligent handling of the conflicts and convictions confronting the Parsi community.

The Marathi movie "Jogva" directed by Rajeev Patil was given the award for the Best Film on Social Issues for its hard-hitting comment on the victims of age-old social customs, while "Jiata Bhoota" in Oriya got the award for the Best Film on Environment Conservation.

"Gubbachigalu" in Kannada was chosen the Best Children's Film for its imaginative portrayal of a magic world that exists in the minds of children.

"Roadside Romeo" in Hindi, directed by Jugal Hansraj, got the award for the Best Animation Film.

The Best Director award went to Bala for Tamil film "Naan Kadauul" for its powerful handling of an extraordinary subject that focuses on marginal characters with great conviction.

Limaye was chosen Best Actor for his restrained yet powerful depiction of a complex character while Chopra got the Best Actress award for her convincing portrayal of a whole range of emotions within a single character.

Shams Patel won the award for the Best Child Artiste for his very natural depiction of a street child of a street child thrown into an unusual situation in the Hindi movie "Thanks Maa".

The following are the other awards announced today:

Best Screenplay: Sachin Kundalkar, Gandha (Marathi)

Best Audiography: Pramod J Thomas, Gandha (Marathi)

Best Editing: A Sreekar Prasad, Firaaq (Hindi)

Best Art Direction: Gautam Sen, Firaaq (Hindi)

Best Costume Designer: Neeta Lulla, Jodha Akbar (Hindi)

Best Make-up Artist: Moorthy V., Naan Kadauul (Tamil)

Best Music Direction: Ajay and Atul, Jogva (Marathi)

Best Lyrics: Anindya Bannerjee and Chandranil Bhattacharya, Antaheen (Bengali)

Special Jury Award: Bioscope (Malayalam), Directedby K M Madhusudhanan

Best Special Effects: Govardhan, Mumbai Meri Jaan (Hindi)

Best Choreography: Chinni Prakash & Rekha Prakash, Jodha Akbar (Hindi)

Best Assamese Film: Mon Jai, directed by M Maniram

Best Bengali Film: Shob Charitro Kalponik, directed by Rituparno Ghosh

Best Hindi Film: Rock On, directed by Abhishek Kapoor

Best Kannada Film: Vimukthi, directed by P Sheshadri

Best Malayalam Film: Thirakkada, diected by Ranjith

Best Marathi Film: Harishchandrachi Factory, directed by Paresh Mokashi

Best Tamil Film: Veranam Airam, directed by Gautham Vasudeva Menon

Best Telugu Film: 1940 Lookagramam, directed by Narasimha Nandi

Best English Film: Land Gold Women, directed by Avantika Hari

Best Kokborok Film: Yarwng, diected by Joseph Pulinthanath

Best Tulu Film: Gaggara, directed by Shivadhwaj Shetty

Non-Feature Films:

Best Non-Feature Film: AFSPA 1958, directed by Haobam Paban Kumar

Best First Non-Feature Film of a Director: Vitthal, directed by Vinoo Choliparambil

Best Anthropological/Ethnographic Film: Boliay Pitaier Sohoki Sootal, directed by Altaf Mazid

Best Biographical/Historical Reconstruction/Compilation Film: The Assassination of Rajiv Gandhi - A Reconstruction

Best Arts/Cultural Film: Karna Motcham, directed by S Murali Manohar

Best Scientific Film: Trip, directed by Emmanuel Palo

Best Promotional Film: Lost and Found, directed by Harshavardhan G Kulkarni

Best Agriculture Film: The Land of Rupshupas, directed by A K Sidhpuri

Best Film on Social Issues: The Female Nude, directed by Hemjyotika and Devi Prasad Mishra and Buru Gaara, directed by Shriprakash

Best Educational/Motivational/Instructional Film: Polio vs Polio Victims, directed by Aman Sachdeva

Best Exploration/Adventure Film: Shingnaba, directed by Bachaspa Timayum Sunzu

Best Investigative Film: Distant Rumblings, directed by Bani Prakash Das

Best Animation Film: Prince and the Crown of Stones, directed by Gautam Bengal

Special Jury Award: Rajesh S Jala for Children of the Pyre

Short Fiction Film: Stations, directed by Emmanuel Palo

Best Film on Family Values: Appuvin Nayagan - Spotty (My Hero), directed by Madhavan

Best Direction: Umesh Kulkarni, Three of Us

Best Cinematography: Three of Us (Shariqva Badar Khan, Filmlab), When This Man Dies (Jayakrishna Gummadi, Adlabs)

Best Audiography: Mateen Ahmad, Children of the Pyre

Best Stations: Manoj Kannoth, Stations

Best Music Direction: Narmeen, Vipin Mishra

Best Narration/Voiceover: Elangbam Natasha, Sana Keithel

Jury Special Mention: Child Actor Aniket Rumade, Vitthal

Best Writing on Cinema:

Best Book on Cinema: Bollywood Melodies (English), Ganesh Anantharaman

Special Jury Mention: The Director's Mind (English), Ujjal Chakraborty

Best Film Critic: Altaf Mazid and R K Bidur Singh

The jury for Feature Films was headed by well-known film-maker Shaji N Karun and included Roshan Taneja, H.M. Ramachandra, Nagma, Satyabrata Kalita, Neelakanta, Dilip Ghosh, Swapan Mullick, Sudesh Syal, S.K. Srivastava, Archana, B. Shashi Kumar, Subhash Sehgal, Santosh Desai andSreelekha Mukherjee.

The jury for Non-Feature Films was headed by Arunaraje Patil and included Krishnendu Bose, Anirban Dutta, Sandeep Marwah, R. V. Ramani, Sarfaraz Siddiqui and Reena Mohan.

There were 126 entries for the feature film categories while there were 99 entries for the non-feature film section.

The jury on Best Writing on Cinema was headed by Sunil Gangopadhyay, assisted by Sudhish Pachauri and Ziya-us Salam.

The awards will be conferred by President Pratibha Patil at a function to be held in the capital in March.