21 children chosen for National Bravery Awards 2009

NetIndian News Network

New Delhi, January 18, 2010

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh will give away the National Bravery Awards for 2009 to 21 children from around the country for their outstanding acts of bravery and meritorious service at a function here on January 21. Two of the awards will be given posthumously.

The children - 8 girls and 13 boys - were chosen by a high-powered committee, an official press release said here today.

The coveted Bharat Award will be presented to 13-year-old Gaurav Singh Saini of Haryana who saved approximately 50-60 people in a stampede at the Naina Devi temple.

Eleven-year-old Karan Nishad of Uttar Pradesh, who had saved five persons from drowning, and 10-year-old Maibam Prity Devi of Manipur, who saved several lives when miscreants hurled a grenade inside their shop at Mayang Imphal Bazaar, have been chosen for the prestigious Sanjay Chopra and Geeta Chopra Awards.

The late Ranu Mishra, 10, of Uttar Pradesh has been selected for the Bapu Gaidhani Award posthumously for displaying exemplary courage in saving her brother and his friend from drowning. Ultimately, she sacrificed her life during her determined effort.

Vijith V, 16, of Kerala and Narendrasinh Natvarsinh Solanki, 17, of Gujarat will also get Bapu Gaidhani Awards for their acts of bravery. Vijith saved four children from drowning in river Kallada while Narendrasinh saved his father from the clutches of a crocodile in Dhadhar river.

Along with courageous acts there are instances of bold decisions and revolts against prevailing social evils. Three girls from West Bengal - Rekha Kalindi, 11, Sunita Mahato, 11 and Afsana Khatun, 12, refused to get married at an early age and wanted to continue their studies. Ultimately, the parents of these bravehearts gave in and the girls were allowed to continue their studies.

The other recipients of the awards are Uddesh R. Ramnathkar (Goa), Dijekshon Syiem, Thoi Thoi Khumanthem (Manipur), Zonunsanga, Lalrammawia (Mizoram), Sujith R., Amal Antony, Krishnapriya K., Sujith Kumar P.(all from Kerala), late Dijekshon Syiem (Meghalaya), Vaishaliben Sambhubhai Solanki (Gujarat) and Yogesh Kumar Jangid (Rajasthan).

In keeping with the traditions, the children will also participate in the Republic Day parade on Rajpath on January 26.