Ansari presents 26th Moorti Devi Award to Odiya poet Haraprasad Das

Vice-President M Hamid Ansari presented the 26th Moorti Devi Award to Mr Haraprasad Das, one of the most influential contemporary poet and thinkers in Odiya literature, at a function organised by Bharatiya Jnanpith here today.
The award consists of a citation and a cash prize of Rs 4 lakhs. 
Mr Ansari said Mr Das is amongst the most versatile literary figures in contemporary Indian literature and his versatility and prolificacy can be gauged from his creations. Every author and poet has a different state of mind while writing, he said.
He said that Bharatiya Jnanpith and the jury, chaired by Union Minister M Veerappa Moily deserved full credit for an excellent choice for the award. He congratulated Mr Das for the well-deserved recognition and wished him all the best for the future. 
Mr Das has also been a distinguished civil servant, and has served as an expert on several UN bodies. He has published 13 volumes of poetry, four volumes of literary criticism and critical thought, one book on ethnic history, a novel and a work of translation.

See News Videos


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.