Nita Chowdhury appointed Secretary, Women & Child Development

Ms Nita Chowdhury, presently Secretary, Department of Youth Affairs in the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, has been appointed as Secretary, Ministry of Women and Child Development.
Ms Chowdhury, an Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer of the 1977 batch (Uttar Pradesh cadre), will succed Mr Prem Narain, IAS (UP:78). 
Ms Sangita Gairola, IAS (RJ:77), presently Secretary, Ministry of Culture, will take Ms Chowdhury's position as Secretary, Department of Youth Affairs.
An official press release said the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet had also approved the appointment of Mr Afzal Amanullah, IAS (BH:79), Special Secretary, Department of Consumer Affairs, Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution, as Secretary, Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs. He will succeed Mr  Desh Deepak Verma IAS (UP:78), on his retirement on 30.06.2013. 
Mr Ravindra Singh IAS (UP:79), Special Secretary, Ministry of Culture, has been appointed as Secretary, Ministry of Culture vice Ms Gairola.
Mr Prem Narain has been placed on compulsory wait in the Ministry of Women and Child Development until further orders. 

See News Videos


Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <canvas>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.

More information about formatting options

© Copyright 2012 NetIndian. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of NetIndian content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of NetIndian Media Corporation. Write to info[AT]netindian[DOT]in for permission to use content. Read detailed Terms of Use.